Founded in 1929 in London, Faber & Faber is one of the world’s great independent publishing houses. Featuring books by no fewer than twelve Nobel Laureates and six Booker Prize-winners with illustrious names such as T. S. Eliot, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath, Samuel Beckett, Seamus Heaney, Kazuo Ishiguro and Simon Armitage; we are proud to publish the finest writers in the arts and literary world.

New & Recommended

Paperback Picks

  • Can You Solve My Problems?

    Can You Solve My Problems?

    ADD
    Alex Bellos
    9781783351152
    Paperback
    352
    Are you smarter than a Singaporean ten-year-old?Can you beat Sherlock Holmes?If you think the answer is yes – I challenge you to solve my problems. Here are 125 of the world’s best brainteasers from the last two millennia, taking us from ancient China to medieval Europe, Victorian England to modern-day Japan, with stories of espionage, mathematical breakthroughs and puzzling rivalries along the way.Pit your wits against logic puzzles and kinship riddles, pangrams and river-crossing conundrums. Some solutions rely on a touch of cunning, others call for creativity, others need mercilessly logical thought. Some can only be solved be 2 per cent of the population. All are guaranteed to sharpen your mind. Let’s get puzzling!
  • Her Every Fear

    Her Every Fear

    ADD
    Peter Swanson
    9780571327126
    Paperback
    432
    The bestselling author of The Kind Worth Killing returns with an electrifying psychological thriller As tantalizing as Rear Window, Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and The Talented Mr Ripley 'I loved it! A brilliantly original premise, delivered with panache.' CLARE MACKINTOSH, Sunday Times bestselling author of I See YouFollowing a brutal attack, Kate Priddy makes the uncharacteristically bold decision of moving from London to Boston – in an apartment swap with her cousin, Corbin Dell.But soon after her arrival Kate makes a shocking discovery: Corbin’s next-door neighbour, Audrey Marshall, may have been murdered.Far from home and emotionally unstable, her imagination playing out her every fear, who can Kate trust?
  • 4 3 2 1

    4 3 2 1

    ADD
    Paul Auster
    9780571324651
    Paperback
    1088
    LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017On March 3rd, 1947, Archibald Isaac Ferguson, the only child of Rose and Stanley Ferguson, is born. From that single beginning, Ferguson’s life will take four simultaneous paths. Four Fergusons will go on to lead four parallel and entirely different lives. Family fortunes diverge. Loves and friendships and passions contrast. Each version of Ferguson’s story rushes across the fractured terrain of mid-twentieth century America, in this sweeping story of birthright and possibility, of love and the fullness of life itself.
  • The Mistletoe Murder and Other Stories

    The Mistletoe Murder and Other Stories

    ADD
    P. D. James
    9780571331352
    Paperback
    144
    P. D. James was frequently commissioned by newspapers and magazines to write a short story for Christmas, and four of the best have been drawn from the archives and published here together for the first time. From the title story about a strained country-house Christmas party, to another about an illicit affair that ends in murder, plus two cases for detective Adam Dalgliesh, these are masterfully atmospheric stories by the acknowledged 'Queen of Crime'.

Faber Modern Classics

  • Self-Help (Faber Modern Classics)

    Self-Help (Faber Modern Classics)

    ADD
    Lorrie Moore
    9780571322718
    Paperback
    176
    Complicated, awkward, funny, cruel, heartbroken, mysterious; Self-Help forms an idiosyncratic guide to female existence which is just as relevant today as it was 30 years ago. These stories are modern America at its most real, with characters sharing thoughts and experiences they could have borrowed from our own lives. This is how to deal with divorce, adultery, cancer, how to talk to your mother or become a writer, the Lorrie Moore way.
  • The New York Trilogy (Faber Modern Classics)

    The New York Trilogy (Faber Modern Classics)

    ADD
    Paul Auster
    9780571322800
    Paperback
    320
    The New York Trilogy is perhaps the most astonishing work by one of America's most consistently astonishing writers. The Trilogy is three cleverly interconnected novels that exploit the elements of standard detective fiction and achieve a new genre that is all the more gripping for its starkness. It is a riveting work of detective fiction worthy of Raymond Chandler, and at the same time a profound and unsettling existentialist enquiry in the tradition of Kafka or Borges. In each story the search for clues leads to remarkable coincidences in the universe as the simple act of trailing a man ultimately becomes a startling investigation of what it means to be human. The New York Trilogy is the modern novel at its finest: a truly bold and arresting work of fiction with something to transfix and astound every reader. 'Marks a new departure for the American novel.' Observer 'A shatteringly clever piece of work ... Utterly gripping, written with an acid sharpness that leaves an indelible dent in the back of the mind.' Sunday Telegraph 'The New York Trilogy established him as the only author one could compare to Samuel Beckett.' Guardian
  • The Joke (Faber Modern Classics)

    The Joke (Faber Modern Classics)

    ADD
    Milan Kundera
    9780571326266
    Paperback
    336
    The Joke, Milan Kundera's first novel, gained him a huge following in his own country, and launched his worldwide literary reputation.'Kundera is the saddest, funniest and most lovable of authors.' The Times
  • Justine

    Justine

    ADD
    Lawrence Durrell
    9780571337187
    Paperback
    208
    In the first book of Durrell’s Alexandria Quartet, the story of the mysterious and charismatic Justine is told by her lover, an impoverished Irish teacher who has sought refuge across the Mediterranean in Greece. It is a love story, but the real heroine of the book is its setting: the city of Alexandria, with a sky of ‘hot nude pearl’ and a thousand streets below, crowded, sensual and exotic; a complex and heady mix of elegance and poverty.

Children's & Young Adult

  • The Story of Ferdinand

    The Story of Ferdinand

    ADD
    Munro Leaf
    9780571335961
    Paperback
    48
    Once upon a time in Spain, there was a little bull and his name was Ferdinand . . . Unlike all the other little bulls – who run, jump, and butt their heads together in fights – Ferdinand would rather sit under his favourite cork tree and smell the flowers. So what will happen when Ferdinand is picked for the bull fights in Madrid?Beloved all over the world for its timeless message of peace, tolerance and the courage to be yourself, this truly classic story has never been out of print in the US since its release in 1936. Hitherto unpublished in the UK.
  • The Land of Neverendings

    The Land of Neverendings

    ADD
    Kate Saunders
    9780571310845
    Paperback
    336
    The cat flap opened. Emily thought a wild animal was coming into the house. But the muddy creature that climbed through had four little wheels and a tail. It spoke in a voice like rough sandpaper. ‘Come on, you two – it’s nice and warm in here.’What if there exists a world powered by imagination?A world of silliness, where humans and their toys live on long after they’ve left the Hard World . . . and what if the door between that world and this one was broken?Welcome to the Land of Neverendings.Moving, raw and funny in all the right ways, The Land of Neverendings is a rip-roaring adventure, but it also gives an honest portrayal of grief for young readers, and shows us that whilst sadness does exist in the world, it doesn't have to cancel out happiness, or silliness, even when you lose someone you love.
  • Christmas Dinner of Souls

    Christmas Dinner of Souls

    ADD
    Ross Montgomery
    9780571317974
    Paperback
    240
    It's a dark and lonely Christmas Eve in the dining room of ancient Soul's College. The kitchen boy, 11-year-old Lewis, has helped prepare a highly unusual meal, made with unrecognisable ingredients, cooked by a mysterious chef. And then the guests arrive ... and carnage ensues. They are ex-students of Soul's College, and they are all completely demented. They demand bottle after bottle of wine, flinging their cutlery and howling like banshees until ... silence. The Dean of Soul's College has arrived, and the evening's ceremonies must begin.For this is the annual meeting of a secret club for those who despise children, warmth, happiness, and above all Christmas. Each member must try to outdo the others by telling the most terrible, disgusting story they know.A spooky, shocking, bloodthirsty alternative to festive cheer that will appeal to, fascinate and delight young readers.
  • The Polar Bear Explorers' Club

    The Polar Bear Explorers' Club

    ADD
    Alex Bell
    Out Of Stock
    9780571332540
    Paperback
    352
    It sounded like a respectable and worthy enough death for an explorer – tumbling from an ice bridge to be impaled upon a mammoth tusk – but Stella really, really didn’t want that to happen, just the same.Join Stella Starflake Pearl and her three fellow explorers as they trek across the snowy Icelands and come face-to-face with frost fairies, snow queens, outlaw hideouts, unicorns, pygmy dinosaurs and carnivorous cabbages . . . When Stella and three other junior explorers get separated from their expedition can they cross the frozen wilderness and live to tell the tale?