Founded in 1929 in London, Faber & Faber is one of the world’s great independent publishing houses. Featuring books by no fewer than twelve Nobel Laureates and six Booker Prize-winners with illustrious names such as T. S. Eliot, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath, Samuel Beckett, Seamus Heaney, Kazuo Ishiguro and Simon Armitage; we are proud to publish the finest writers in the arts and literary world.

New & Recommended

Paperback Picks

  • To Throw Away Unopened

    To Throw Away Unopened

    Viv Albertine
    9780571326228
    Paperback
    304
    What was I fighting for? Even now I’m not sure. Something so old and so deep, it has no words, no shape, no logic.Viv Albertine has always been obsessed with the truth: the truth about family, power, and her identity as a rebel and outsider. But at what cost? In this brutally honest memoir she relentlessly exposes human dysfunctionality: the impossibility of intimacy, and the damage wrought upon us by secrets and revelations, siblings and parents. Written with Albertine’s unique vulnerability and intelligence, To Throw Away Unopened is a startling self-portrait and a testament to rebuilding oneself and facing the world again.
  • The Happy Brain

    The Happy Brain

    Dean Burnett
    9781783351305
    Paperback
    352
    'Funny, wise and absolutely fascinating.' Adam Kay, author of This Is Going to HurtDo you want to be happy? If so – read on. This book has all the answers*In The Happy Brain, neuroscientist Dean Burnett delves deep into the inner workings of our minds to explore some fundamental questions about happiness. What does it actually mean to be happy? Where does it come from? And what, really, is the point of it? Forget searching for the secret of happiness through lifestyle fads or cod philosophy — Burnett reveals the often surprising truth behind what make us tick. From whether happiness really begins at home (spoiler alert: yes – sort of) to what love, sex, friendship, wealth, laughter and success actually do to our brains, this book offers a uniquely entertaining insight into what it means to be human.*Not really. Sorry. But it does have some very interesting questions, and at least the occasional answer.
  • Kudos

    Kudos

    Rachel Cusk
    9780571346721
    Paperback
    240
    ‘A landmark in twenty-first-century English literature.’ Andrew Anthony, Observer‘Kudos is one of the most astoundingly original and necessary books I’ve ever read. It made me laugh, think and cry . . . I envy anyone who hasn’t read it yet.’ Julie Myerson, GuardianA woman on a plane listens to the stranger in the seat next to hers telling her the story of his life: his work, his marriage, and the harrowing night he has just spent burying the family dog. That woman is Faye, who is on her way to Europe to promote the book she has just published. Once she reaches her destination, the conversations she has with the people she meets – about art, about family, about politics, about love, about sorrow and joy, about justice and injustice – include the most far-reaching questions human beings ask. These conversations, the last of them on the phone with her son, rise dramatically and majestically to a beautiful conclusion. Following the novels Outline and Transit, Kudos completes Rachel Cusk’s trilogy with overwhelming power.
  • Little Faith

    Little Faith

    Nickolas Butler
    9780571351107
    Paperback
    336
    From the celebrated author of Shotgun Lovesongs, 'a heart-wrenching look at family and the American mid-west' Stylist'With its focus on spirituality and reverence for the joys of everyday life, Little Faith calls to mind Marilynne Robinson’s Gilead.' The New York TimesLyle Hovde is at the onset of his golden years, living a mostly content life in rural Wisconsin with his wife, Peg, daughter, Shiloh, and five-year-old grandson, Isaac. After a troubled adolescence and subsequent estrangement from her parents, Shiloh has finally come home. But, while away, she became deeply involved with an extremist church, and the devout pastor courting her is convinced Isaac has the spiritual ability to heal the sick.Reckoning with his own faith – or lack thereof – Lyle soon finds himself torn between his unease about the church and the growing threat it poses to keeping his daughter and grandson in his life. Set over the course of one year and beautifully evoking the change of seasons, Little Faith is a powerful and deeply affecting novel about family and community, the ways in which belief is both formed and shaken, and the lengths we go to protect our own.

Faber Modern Classics

  • Self-Help (Faber Modern Classics)

    Self-Help (Faber Modern Classics)

    Lorrie Moore
    9780571322718
    Paperback
    176
    Complicated, awkward, funny, cruel, heartbroken, mysterious; Self-Help forms an idiosyncratic guide to female existence which is just as relevant today as it was 30 years ago. These stories are modern America at its most real, with characters sharing thoughts and experiences they could have borrowed from our own lives. This is how to deal with divorce, adultery, cancer, how to talk to your mother or become a writer, the Lorrie Moore way.
  • The New York Trilogy (Faber Modern Classics)

    The New York Trilogy (Faber Modern Classics)

    Paul Auster
    9780571322800
    Paperback
    320
    The New York Trilogy is perhaps the most astonishing work by one of America's most consistently astonishing writers. The Trilogy is three cleverly interconnected novels that exploit the elements of standard detective fiction and achieve a new genre that is all the more gripping for its starkness. It is a riveting work of detective fiction worthy of Raymond Chandler, and at the same time a profound and unsettling existentialist enquiry in the tradition of Kafka or Borges. In each story the search for clues leads to remarkable coincidences in the universe as the simple act of trailing a man ultimately becomes a startling investigation of what it means to be human. The New York Trilogy is the modern novel at its finest: a truly bold and arresting work of fiction with something to transfix and astound every reader. 'Marks a new departure for the American novel.' Observer 'A shatteringly clever piece of work ... Utterly gripping, written with an acid sharpness that leaves an indelible dent in the back of the mind.' Sunday Telegraph 'The New York Trilogy established him as the only author one could compare to Samuel Beckett.' Guardian
  • The Joke (Faber Modern Classics)

    The Joke (Faber Modern Classics)

    Milan Kundera
    9780571326266
    Paperback
    336
    The Joke, Milan Kundera's first novel, gained him a huge following in his own country, and launched his worldwide literary reputation.'Kundera is the saddest, funniest and most lovable of authors.' The Times
  • Justine

    Justine

    Lawrence Durrell
    9780571337187
    Paperback
    208
    In the first book of Durrell’s Alexandria Quartet, the story of the mysterious and charismatic Justine is told by her lover, an impoverished Irish teacher who has sought refuge across the Mediterranean in Greece. It is a love story, but the real heroine of the book is its setting: the city of Alexandria, with a sky of ‘hot nude pearl’ and a thousand streets below, crowded, sensual and exotic; a complex and heady mix of elegance and poverty.

Children's & Young Adult

  • The Curses

    The Curses

    Laure Eve
    9780571328048
    Paperback
    416
    Picking up the pieces after the chilling events of the previous year isn't easy, but the Grace siblings are determined to try and get things back to normal - and if that means papering over the cracks, so be it. Summer has had enough of secrets, but sharing a house with someone who’s been resurrected from the dead isn’t something you want the neighbours to know about. As ex-best friend River wreaks havoc with her twisted spells, can the Graces ever escape the curses that have been tearing their family apart for generations?
  • Squishy McFluff: Tea with the Queen

    Squishy McFluff: Tea with the Queen

    Pip Jones
    9780571337286
    Paperback
    32
    A day out with Squishy could never be boring!When Squishy and Ava go on a trip to London, they can't resist the chance to explore the palace, but when they accidentally find the Queen, will she be able to see how wonderful Squishy is?
  • The Beasts of Grimheart

    The Beasts of Grimheart

    Kieran Larwood
    9780571328451
    Paperback
    320
    The bard looks up at the three figures. They have black hooded cloaks and long robes. From the holes in their masks, three pairs of eyes watch him: cold, calm, emotionless.‘Yes,’ says the bard. ‘They’re bonedancers. You don’t need to sound quite so excited, though. They have come to kill me.’And so it is that the bard and and his young apprentice Rue are taken to Spinestone, the temple warren of the bonedancers. It is here that the bard is ordered to retell the tale that has got him in so much trouble . . . and so to the next instalment in the astonishing tale of Podkin One-Ear . . .Podkin, Paz and Pook once again find their home under threat, but this time they are ready to fight! Podkin and the others leave for Sparrowfast to ask their uncle for the use of his magic bow. It's the one weapon that could save them all. But as they flee into the forest depths, it seems they have been betrayed . . .
  • Matt Millz Stands Up!

    Matt Millz Stands Up!

    Harry Hill
    9780571332519
    Paperback
    464
    Matt did it! His performance at the T Factor has given him the fame he dreamed of. Kitty is getting more gigs booked in with a whole new stable of comedic acts. Unfortunately, Matt hasn't had time to come up with new jokes so it isn't long before he is greeted with the worst heckle for a comedian: 'heard it before!'. But when Kitty suggests he takes a break to work on his routine, Matt can't stand to go back to his normal life. So he signs up with the stylish Excalibur Agency, brushing his concerns (and Kitty) aside. A life of celebrity awaits! But it doesn't take long for the shine to wear off and when they try and force him on to his first Live At the Apollo, without any preparation and no new jokes, how can Matt save himself from the ultimate humiliation?