Faber Members get 10% off their first order

The Two Loves of Sophie Strom (Audiobook)

Sam Taylor

A timeless, heart-wrenching story about love in the face of indoctrination and tragedy – perfect for fans of Amor Towles and Anthony Doerr’s All The Light We Cannot See.

Format
Audio book
ISBN
9780571380145
Date Published
30.04.2024
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

‘The characters are wonderful – a truly moving and fully human. A magnificent achievement.’
LEÏLA SLIMANI

‘Impressive . . . it gripped my heart and imagination.’
JO BROWNING WROE

 

One man, one choice, two lifetimes.


A house fire, Vienna, 1933:
thirteen-year-old Max is orphaned, disfigured and adopted by an Aryan family who change his identity – and his prospects.

A house fire, Vienna, 1933: thirteen-year-old Max saves his parents and escapes unharmed, to face life as a Jew in 1930s Austria.

In one unforgettable night, Max Spiegelman’s life splits in two. As war looms and Nazism continues to rise, Max is forced into choices that place him and his alter ego on opposing sides of a divided world. Tethered by their dreams, the boys watch helplessly, haunted by visions of what could have been. But in each parallel universe, they share a magnetic bond with an enchanting, grey-eyed girl.

The Two Loves of Sophie Strom is a profound story about how tragedy, choice and life-altering love shape our future.

SamTaylor

Sam Taylor is a novelist and literary translator. His previous novels have reached an international audience, and his award-winning translations include works by Laurent Binet, Leïla Slimani and Marcel Proust. Born in England, Sam was a writer and editor at The Observer before moving to France. He now lives in the United States with his family.

Read More
SamTaylor
Sam-Taylor.jpg