Faber Members get 10% off their first order

The Collected Prose of Sylvia Plath

Sylvia Plath

The complete edition of Sylvia Plath’s prose including much unpublished and previously uncollected material.

Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

A complete edition, including much previously uncollected and unpublished material

The Collected Prose stands alongside the Journals (2000) and the two volume Letters (2017 and 2018) to support a more complete understanding of Sylvia Plath’s ambition and achievement as a writer. Expanding on the selection published as Johnny Panic and the Bible of Dreams (1977), this volume draws together all of Sylvia Plath’s shorter prose, much of which is previously uncollected and unpublished. The volume embraces her experiments with the short story and pieces of non-fiction from the 1940s through to her more polished compositions of the fifties and early sixties, including fragments of fiction as well as her journalism and book reviews. Themes and associations become apparent as the volume offers new, intertextual ways of reading across Plath’s oeuvre, colouring and shading our understanding and appreciation of her extraordinary talent.


Sylvia Plath (1932–63) was born in Boston, Massachusetts, and studied at Smith College. In 1955 she went to Cambridge University on a Fulbright scholarship, where she met and later married Ted Hughes. She published one collection of poems in her lifetime, The Colossus (1960), and a novel, The Bell Jar (1963). Her Collected Poems, which contains her poetry written from…

Read More
More books by Sylvia Plath