Faber Members get 10% off their first order

The Country of Others

Leïla Slimani

The first volume of a new trilogy telling the saga of one French family between 1946 and 2016.

138 in stock

£14.99
Format
Hardback
ISBN
9780571361618
Date Published
05.08.2021
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

‘A panoramic, ambitious tale.’ The Times
‘Exceptional.’ Salman Rushdie
‘Powerful.’ Christine Mangan
‘Captivating.’ Elle

1944. After the Liberation, Mathilde leaves France to join her husband in Morocco.

But life here is unrecognisable to this brave and passionate young woman. Her life is now that of a farmer’s wife – with all the sacrifices and vexations that brings. Suffocated by the heat, by her loneliness on the farm and by the mistrust she inspires as a foreigner, Mathilde grows increasingly restless.

As Morocco’s struggle for independence intensifies, Mathilde and her husband find themselves caught in the crossfire.

From the internationally bestselling author, The Country of Others is perfect for fans of Elena Ferrante, Tracy Chevalier, and Maggie O’Farrell.

Critic Reviews

Dazzling - ambitious, stylish, deeply evocative, and with such clever and intimate characterisation. A terrific achievement.

Emma Stonex
Critic Reviews

The world of this novel - Morocco after World War II, leading up to the revolt against French colonialism - is beautifully created. Personal life, social life, everyday life spring vividly from the page, and we feel deeply for the family caught in the middle of the conflict of history. An exceptional, powerful novel from this justly celebrated writer.

Salman Rushdie
Critic Reviews

A powerful and compelling family saga—about women and subjugation, otherness and belonging, and the often conflicting loyalty to both family and country—written with a deftness that has come to define Leila Slimani’s writing. It will no doubt resonate in the reader’s mind long after the final sentence is read.

Christine Mangan
Critic Reviews

A narrative at once richly layered and deceptively simple. I loved it and didn't want it to end.

Claire Messud
Critic Reviews

Slimani excels at telling this wide-ranging story, expertly folding themes of love, loss, alienation, gender, and belonging into a complex narrative.

Vogue
Critic Reviews

Slimani's writing has a tremendous evocative power: we see the earth, the house, the dust. We smell the sweet scent of oranges and the acrid smell of sweat. We feel the fear when the nationalist revolt rumbles all over Morocco . . . The Country of Others is a magnificent novel.

La Presse
LeïlaSlimani

Leïla Slimani is the first Moroccan woman to win France’s most prestigious literary prize, the Prix Goncourt, which she won for Lullaby. A journalist and frequent commentator on women’s and human rights, she is French president Emmanuel Macron’s personal representative for the promotion of the French language and culture. Born in Rabat, Morocco, in 1981, she lives in Paris with…

Read More
LeïlaSlimani
Leila-Slimani-1.jpg