Zinnie Harris: Plays 1

Zinnie Harris
Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

In this first collection by Zinnie Harris, Further than the Furthest Thing evokes the fragility of an island community as their way of life is threatened and they must determine their future, while Midwinter opens as a woman steals a dead horse to feed to a child. How To Hold Your Breath tells the story of a woman who sleeps with the devil and defends her belief in love, even as her world collapses around her, and Meet Me at Dawn offers a compelling, allegorical love story that explores the desolating effects of grief.
With an introduction by director Dominic Hill.

Further than the Furthest Thing
‘Already has the status of a modern classic.’ Lyn Gardner, Guardian
‘Arguably the greatest tragedy in the Scottish theatrical canon’ Mark Brown, Telegraph

‘There is no mistaking her talent’ Observer
‘A stunning metaphor for our time’ Herald

How to Hold Your Breath
‘Harris’s writing is not only wonderfully imaginative, but also beautifully light.’ Tribune
‘Dizzyingly bold . . . pressingly topical and admirably ambitious’ Financial Times

Meet Me at Dawn
‘A twenty-first-century classic’ Scotsman
‘Lyrical, raw and hazy’ Sunday Times


Zinnie Harris’s plays include the multi-award-winning Further than the Furthest Thing (National Theatre/Tron Theatre; winner of the 1999 Peggy Ramsay Award, 2001 John Whiting Award, Edinburgh Fringe First Award), How to Hold Your Breath (Royal Court Theatre; joint winner of the Berwin Lee Award), The Wheel (National Theatre of Scotland; joint winner of the 2011 Amnesty International Freedom of Expression…

Read More
Portrait of playwright Zinnie Harris
More books by Zinnie Harris