Faber Members get 10% off their first order

Collected Screenplays

Paul Auster

Collected Screenplays brings together the film work of Paul Auster.

1 in stock

Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

Paul Auster’s novels have earned him the reputation as ‘one of America’s most spectacularly inventive writers.’ He has also brought this sense of invention to the art of screenwriting, producing Smoke, Blue in the Face, Lulu on the Bridge and The Inner Life of Martin Frost.

Smoke tells the story of a novelist, a cigar store manager and a black teenager who unexpectedly cross paths. Blue in the Face is a largely improvised comedy directly inspired by Smoke. In Lulu on the Bridge, jazz musician Izzy Maurer is accidently hit with a bullet during a performance in a New York club, propelling him on a strange and frightening journey. The Inner Life of Martin Frost follows the unsettling experiences that befall a writer who borrows a friend’s country house.

The volume also contains production notes, as well as interviews with Paul Auster about his work in film.


Paul Auster is the bestselling author of Winter Journal, Sunset Park, Man in the Dark, The Brooklyn Follies, The Book of Illusions and The New York Trilogy, among many other works. In 2006 he was awarded the Prince of Asturias Prize for Literature and inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Among his other honours are the Independent…

Read More
More books by Paul Auster

Smoke & Blue in the Face
Paul Auster