Faber Members get 10% off their first order

Another Time (Faber 90th Anniversary Edition)

W. H. Auden

Faber 90th Anniversary edition of this loved and admired collection of poems

31 in stock

Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

Another Time was the first volume that Auden published after his departure to America with Christopher Isherwood in January 1939. It was dedicated to Chester Kallman. The poems, some of which date from the early thirties, are about people, places and the intellectual climate of the times, and they show greater variety of tone and technique than in any previous book of Auden’s. Some of his most famous and often quoted (or misquoted) lines appear in their original form, including the text of two poems in particular – ‘Spain 1937’ and ‘September 1,1939’ – that he later altered or repudiated.

This beautifully designed edition forms part of a series of ten titles celebrating Faber’s publishing over the decades.

Critic Reviews

'This is certainly his best collection of poems and includes his elegies on Yeats and Freud and everything from "Lay your sleeping head" and "About suffering they were never wrong/The Old Masters" to "The crack in the tea-cup opens/A lane to the land of the dead" and "We must love one another or die"...Auden was for many of us the last poet we learnt by heart'.

Cyril Connolly

W. H. Auden was born in York in 1907 and brought up in Birmingham. His first book, Poems, was published by T. S. Eliot at Faber in 1930. He went to Spain during the civil war, to Iceland (with Louis MacNeice) and later travelled to China. In 1939 he and Christopher Isherwood left for America, where Auden spent the next…

Read More
More books by W. H. Auden

Collected Poems
W. H. Auden

W. H. Auden
W. H. Auden

Journey to a War
W. H. Auden

Look, Stranger!
W. H. Auden

The Dog Beneath the Skin
W. H. Auden