Faber Members get 10% off their first order

Your House Will Pay

Steph Cha

In her blistering and beautifully written UK debut, Steph Cha has crafted an urgent, timely and unforgettable novel about the inter-twined fates of two families.

Buy from
Format
Ebook
ISBN
9780571348237
Date Published
17.10.2019
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

Winner of the LA Times Book Prize

Two families.
One desperate to remember, the other to forget.
Will the truth burn them both?

‘Masterful.’ Ruth Ware

‘A searing examination of racial and family politics that is also an immaculately constructed whodunit.’ Daily Telegraph, Summer Reads


‘Writing a page-turner about racial politics in the U.S. is a delicate enterprise fraught with pitfalls, but Cha manages it superbly in this thought-provoking family saga.’ Daily Mail, Summer Reads

Grace Park and Shawn Mathews share a city, but seemingly little else. Coming from different generations and very different communities, their paths wouldn’t normally cross at all. As Grace battles confusion over her elder sister’s estrangement from their Korean-immigrant parents, Shawn tries to help his cousin Ray readjust to life on the outside after years spent in prison.

But something in their past links these two families. As the city around them threatens to spark into violence, echoing events from their past, the lives of Grace and Shawn are set to collide in ways which will change them all forever.

Beautifully written, and marked by its aching humanity as much as its growing sense of dread, Your House Will Pay is a powerful and moving family story, perfect for readers of Celeste Ng’s Little Fires Everywhere and Paul Beatty’s The Sellout.

What readers are saying:


‘Simultaneously thrilling and thoughtful… a terrific, fast-moving story of two characters trying to live with the truth.’


‘A must-read.’


‘This novel is wonderful… it will stick with you.’


‘Sensitive and astute, it’s a book we need right now, and it’s a book that lingers, offering plenty to think about.’


‘A smart, powerful, fully-engaged book that never once blinks or backs down or takes an easy out, and then nails one of the best endings I’ve ever read.’

Critic Reviews

With Your House Will Pay, Steph Cha has taken a dark moment in Los Angeles’s violent history and cracked it wide open, creating a prism of understanding - of the pull of generational violence and its enduring devastation, but also of the power of human grace against all odds. It’s a touching portrait of two families bound together by a split-second decision that tore a hole through an entire city.

Attica Locke, author of BLUEBIRD, BLUEBIRD
Critic Reviews

A propulsive, lacerating novel about two families caught in the turmoil of a city and nation in crisis ... Fearless, insightful, and alight with a brutal compassion, Your House Will Pay is a devastating exploration of grief, shame, and deeply buried truths, and the hope that endures when all else seems lost.

Catherine Chung, author of THE TENTH MUSE
Critic Reviews

Your House Will Pay is extraordinary, a deeply-felt and sharply-observed exploration of the ties the bind, and divide, family, community, and nation. It’s moving, compelling, surprising, funny, explosive, and deeply human - an unforgettable novel.

Lou Berney, author of NOVEMBER ROAD
Critic Reviews

A haunting portrait of two lives - and a city - in turmoil, Your House Will Pay is both a crackling page-turner and a deeply felt work of eloquence, clarity, and devastating insight. Steph Cha firmly establishes herself here as not just one of crime fiction’s most exciting young voices, but one of its most exciting voices - period.

Elizabeth Little, author of DEAR DAUGHTER
StephCha

Steph Cha is the author of Your House Will Pay and the Juniper Song crime trilogy. She’s an editor and critic whose work has appeared in the Los Angeles Times, USA Today and the Los Angeles Review of Books. Her 2020 novel Your House Will Pay was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger award and the Macavity…

Read More
StephCha
Steph-Cha-1.jpg