Faber Members get 10% off their first order

Feel Free

Nick Laird

Scintillating fourth collection of poetry from Northern Irish novelist and poet.

Buy from
Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

Celebrated for his novels and screenplays, Nick Laird has been ‘an assured and brilliant voice’ (Colm Toibin) in contemporary poetry ever since his impressive debut, To a Fault, in 2005. This is his strongest collection to date, in which we sense the deep American influence from living in New York meeting his familial shores of Northern Ireland: the acoustically generous, longer lines of the new world’s Ginsberg or Whitman, and the lyricism of his forebears Heaney, MacNeice and Yeats. These are smart, energetic, worldly poems of political edge and family tenderness.


Born in County Tyrone in 1975, Nick Laird is a poet, novelist, screenwriter, and former lawyer. His poetry collections are To A Fault, On Purpose and Go Giants. A new volume is forthcoming in 2018. His novels are Utterly Monkey, Glover’s Mistake and Modern Gods. Awards for his writing include the Betty Trask prize, the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, a…

Read More