Faber Members get 10% off their first order


Rachael Allen

Debut collection from Faber New Poet Rachael Allen

Buy from
Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

Kingdomland is the debut poetry collection of Rachael Allen – a writer of rare vision and bravery, humanity and flare, of wit, candour and forward brilliance. Her poems are peculiarly rich, suffused with surreal images and uncanny incidents to create bewitching worlds. Omens, sorcery, and unexplained violences take shape in the glowering dusk. We are faced with strange metamorphoses, grotesque bodies, hauntings and impassable paths. And yet, all too clearly we recognise the everyday injustices, griefs and dysfunctions of life here on earth, which Allen chronicles with such balance and, often, sympathy. Kingdomland expresses the fearless cut of Allen’s verbal and written edge, and the wild colours of her imagination.


Rachael Allen was born in Cornwall and studied at Goldsmiths College. She is the co-author of Jolene, a book of poems and photographs with Guy Gormley, and Nights of Poor Sleep, a book of poems and paintings with Marie Jacotey. She has received a Northern Writers’ Award and an Eric Gregory Award, and was made a Faber New Poet in 2014. She…

Read More