Faber Members get 10% off their first order

Christmas in Austin

Benjamin Markovits

This luminous family saga from one of Granta‘s Best Young British Novelists is a must for fans of Anne Tyler and Jonathan Franzen.

Buy from
Format
Ebook
ISBN
9780571339778
Date Published
05.11.2019
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

‘Intricately, intimately written, with some wonderful prose and delicate dialogue.’ Guardian
‘A loving and nuanced portrait of a family’s myriad functions.’ The New Yorker
‘Utterly absorbing.’ Financial Times
‘A tour de force.’ Sunday Times

A Luminous family saga from one of Granta’s Best Young British Novelists

When the four Essinger children gather in Austin for Christmas, they all bring their news. Nathan wants to become a federal judge. Susie’s husband has taken a job in England. Jean has asked her boyfriend and (once-married) boss to meet her family. Paul has broken up with Dana, mother of their son Cal. But their parents have plans, too, and Liesel, the materfamilias, has invited Dana and Cal to stay, hoping to bring them back together. As the week unfolds, each of the Essingers has to confront the tensions and conflicts between old families and new.

Rich, intimate, and deeply perceptive, Christmas in Austin beautifully explores the deep-rooted division between the world we grow up in, and the life we make for ourselves.

‘A subtle, complex, grown-up study of a modern family. There’s something pleasurable and astute to be found on every page.’ Literary Review

Critic Reviews

‘A tour de force of omniscient writing.’

Sunday Times
Critic Reviews

‘A bravura feat . . . Markovits’s novel has persuasively recreated the kind of family occasion to which most of us submit at this time of year.’

Observer
Critic Reviews

‘Markovits is a wonderfully engaging writer. You feel he knows his characters thoroughly and he refrains from judging them … A novel that is as pleasurable as it is intelligent.’

Scotsman
Critic Reviews

‘Markovits has a keen eye for these clannish rituals with their small dramas and occasional revelations’

Mail on Sunday
Critic Reviews

‘One of those rich, immersive novels that leaves you wanting to WhatsApp all the characters when you have finished . . . Markovits treats his characters tenderly and his dialogue is achingly realistic . . . I was engrossed by the chewy relationship dynamics. It’s a novel that everyone should read before they face their own family Christmas.

The Times
Critic Reviews

‘Utterly absorbing . . . dramatises the chaos and claustrophobia of prolonged family gatherings.’

Max Liu, Financial Times
BenjaminMarkovits

Benjamin Markovits grew up in Texas, London and Berlin. He is the author of eleven novels, including Either Side of Winter, You Don’t Have To Live Like This, and Christmas in Austin. He has published essays, stories, poetry and reviews on subjects ranging from the Romantics to American sports in the Guardian, Granta, The Paris Review and The New York…

Read More
BenjaminMarkovits
Benjamin-Markovits-1.jpg
More books by Benjamin Markovits