Faber Members get 10% off their first order

Patient X (Hardback)

David Peace

Extraordinary, standalone novel from the legendary David Peace, about one of Japan’s greatest ever writers.

Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

‘Beautiful, gothic and powerfully mysterious.’ ESQUIRE

‘One of the most original and intriguing books you’ll read this year.’ MAIL ON SUNDAY

‘His best to date.’ DAVID MITCHELL

Ryunosuke Akutagawa was one of Japan’s great writers – author of the stories ‘Rashomon’ and ‘In a Bamboo Grove’, most famously – who lived through Japan’s turbulent Taisho period of 1912 to 1926, including the devastating 1923 Earthquake, only to take his own life at the age of just thirty-five in 1927.

These are the stories of Patient X in one of our iron castles. He will tell his tales to anyone with the ears and the time to listen –

Inspired and informed by Akutagawa’s stories, essays and letters, David Peace has fashioned a most extraordinary novel of tales. An intense, passionate, haunting paean to one writer, it also thrillingly explores the act and obsession of writing itself, and the role of the artist, both in public and private life, in times which darkly mirror our own.

Critic Reviews

David Peace writes the boldest and most original British fiction of his generation.

Richard Lloyd Parry, New York Times
Critic Reviews

His best to date.

David Mitchell
Critic Reviews

‘One of the most memorable stories in the book, the phantasmagoric “Jack the Ripper’s Bedroom” […] reads like something by Edgar Allan Poe set in Edwardian London with a Japanese protagonist, and concludes with a nod and a wink to Joseph Conrad’s Heart of Darkness.’

Ian Samson, Guardian
Critic Reviews

’Replicates the curious but damaged psyche of its subject. . . a powerful study of story-telling.’

Critic Reviews

‘Beautiful, gothic and powerfully mysterious.’

Critic Reviews

‘As a work of tribute, Patient X is superlative: exacting, precise and filled with the suffocating sense of foreboding generated by the mater’s own best stories...Peace is not simply a masterfully controlled stylist but a magnificently atmospheric one, composing hypnotic collages.’

Andrew Dickson, Financial Times

David Peace – named in 2003 as one of Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists – was born and brought up in Yorkshire. He is the author of eleven novels including the Red Riding Quartet, adapted for television by Channel Four in 2009, GB84, which was awarded the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, The Damned Utd, Red or Dead, which…

Read More
Portrait of author David Peace
More books by David Peace