Faber Members get 10% off first order

Fateful Mornings

Tom Bouman

FATEFUL MORNINGS is the hugely exciting follow up to Tom Bouman’s prize-winning debut, DRY BONES IN THE VALLEY

Format
Paperback
ISBN
9780571333363
Date Published
06.07.2017
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

Fateful Mornings is a haunting dissection of the broken heart of America.’ Val McDermid

For fans of James Lee Burke and Cormac McCarthy, Tom Bouman is the new must-read author exploring the outer darkness of contemporary America.

In Wild Thyme, Pennsylvania, Officer Henry Farrell’s life is getting complicated. Widowed and more traumatised than he cares to admit, he is caught up in an affair with a local woman, and with helping out his friend’s barn construction job – on which the clock is ticking. When a troubled old acquaintance of theirs becomes the prime suspect in the disappearance of his girlfriend, it becomes increasingly clear that something seriously dark is at large in the woods that surround them.

Against this old and strange landscape – where silence rules – a fascinating and troubling case ensues, as Henry struggles for his very survival.

Critic Reviews

A terrific writer. Definitely one to keep an eye on.

Dennis Lehane
Critic Reviews

Cop Henry Farrell finds his easy beat in rural Pennsylvania's heroin-and-meth-belt getting complicated, dark and dirty as murders pile up — and the locals clam up. Bouman shows an insider's understanding of the territory and creates his characters with understated economy and vitality.

Sunday Times Crime Club
Critic Reviews

My father always said that you can judge people by the way they keep their tools: clean and sharp or soiled and soft. Tom Bouman's tools - the words he uses to make Fateful Mornings - cut straight and true, in this riveting mystery about a good man caught in the ruined Eden of rural America.

Julia Keller, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Sorrow Road
Critic Reviews

Bouman’s tender portrait of a widower remaking his life infuses his crime fiction with a level of intimacy that is both rare and winning.

Attica Locke, author of Black Water Rising
Critic Reviews

You would be hard pressed to find a finer new series than Tom Bouman’s Henry Farrell novels because of the complexity of the plots or the richness of the characters, but what it really comes down to is just damn good writing.

Craig Johnson, author of the Walt Longmire novels
Critic Reviews

Fateful Mornings is an uncommonly intelligent whodunit, haunted by the presence of an unforgettable villain who slinks through the pages with the lubricious evil of Cape Fear’s Max Cady.

Nickolas Butler, author of Shotgun Lovesongs
TomBouman

Tom Bouman is the author of Fateful Mornings and Dry Bones in the Valley, which won the Edgar Award for Best First Novel and a Los Angeles Times Book Prize. He lives in upstate New York.

Read more
TomBouman
Tom-Bouman-1.jpg