Rolling Home

Alan Bennett

Out of stock

Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

Funny, touching and real, this second collection of Alan Bennett’s classic work for television from the late 1970s and early 1980s is full of fine observations of life as it is lived. Often imitated but never equalled, Bennett’s work is a masterclass in how to write for the small screen and gives as much enjoyment in the reading as it did in the viewing.

The television plays included in this volume are Our Winnie, All Day on the Sands, One Fine Day, Marks, Say Something Happened, Rolling Home and Intensive Care. This volume also contains a new general introduction by Alan Bennett.

A companion volume of Alan Bennett’s work from the 1970s is published as Me, I’m Afraid of Virginia Woolf.


Alan Bennett has been one of our leading dramatists since the success of Beyond the Fringe in the 1960s. His television series Talking Heads has become a modern-day classic, as have many of his works for the stage including Forty Years On, The Lady in the Van (together with the screenplay), A Question of Attribution, The Madness of George III (together with the Oscar-nominated screenplay The Madness of King George), and…

Read More
More books by Alan Bennett