Faber Members get 10% off their first order

The Shrouded Path

Sarah Ward

An irresistible autumnal mystery helmed by a complex heroine, perfect for fans of Val McDermid

3 in stock

£8.99
Format
Paperback
ISBN
9780571332427
Date Published
05.09.2019
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

November, 1957. Six teenage girls walk in the Derbyshire mists, the first chills of winter in the air. They follow the old train tracks into the dark tunnel of the Cutting. Only five reappear on the other side.

October, 2017. Feverishly fixated on a childhood friend, Mina’s dying mother makes a plea: ‘Find Valerie’.

Following up on what seems like a routine death by natural causes, DC Connie Childs’ old instincts kick in, pointing her back to one cold evening in 1957. But as Connie broadens her enquiries, the investigation begins to move increasingly close to home.

Critic Reviews

Moody, menacing and with more than a hint of the macabre, this is a mystery that grips like a raw day in the Peaks.

Lancashire Evening Post
Critic Reviews

A macabre and unsettling twist.

Guardian
Critic Reviews

An immersive novel . . . A finely plotted tale which will keep you glued to the pages well into the early hours.

Crime Fiction Lover
Critic Reviews

A macabre masterpiece . . . Draws the reader in and keeps them hooked throughout.

Nudge Books
Critic Reviews

Perfect for fans of Val McDermid and P. D. James . . . Fantastic.

Shelf of Unread Books
SarahWard

Sarah Ward is the author of In Bitter Chill, which was published in 2015 to critical acclaim. On her blog, Crimepieces (www.crimepieces.com), she reviews the best of current crime fiction published around the world, and she has also reviewed for Euro Crime and CrimeSquad. She is a judge for the Petrona Award for Scandinavian translated crime novels. She lives in…

Read More
SarahWard
Sarah-Ward-1.jpg