Faber Members get 10% off their first order

The Impossible Fortress

Jason Rekulak

A heartwarming and hugely entertaining coming-of-age story set in the hazy days of the 1980s.

Out of stock

Buy from
Format
Ebook
ISBN
9780571330645
Date Published
02.02.2017
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

It’s 1987. Billy Marvin, the tallest boy in ninth grade, has just witnessed history.

Wheel of Fortune presenter Vanna White is on the cover of Playboy.

Billy and his friends, Alf and Clark, know that if they can get hold of the magazine, their world will change. For ever.

But as Billy says, ‘No shopkeeper in America was going to sell Playboy to a fourteen-year-old boy.’

As they set out on their mission to find the most wanted images in America, they’re blissfully unaware of the dangers, dramas and garbage dumpsters that lie ahead. And of how a girl called Mary might just change one of their lives. For ever.

Critic Reviews

The Impossible Fortress reads like a newly-unearthed Amblin movie - a sweet, funny and moving tribute to nerds and misfits everywhere, set in a magical time when cassettes were king, phones had cords and Playboy was the pinnacle of smut. Fans of Ernie Cline and Chuck Klosterman - this is your next favourite book.

Seth Grahame-Smith, author of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies
Critic Reviews

A love letter to the 1980s, adolescence, technology, nerd-dom, and Vanna White, The Impossible Fortress will make you laugh and remind you of how much is possible when you're fourteen.

David Ebershoff, author of The Danish Girl
Critic Reviews

The Impossible Fortress is hilarious, compulsively readable and surprisingly poignant, a teenage caper novel set in a time where U2 could still be considered a one-hit wonder and pornography was as close and as unobtainable to a 14-year-old boy as a Playboy magazine kept behind the counter at an office supply store. I absolutely loved it.

Carolyn Parkhurst, author of Harmony and The Dogs of Babel
Critic Reviews

Part love story, part coming-of-age tale, and part heist picture, The Impossible Fortress is an endlessly clever novel about friendship, heartache and computers – all rendered with the bright colors and buoyant spirit of Q*bert for the Commodore 64.

Ben H Winters, author of the Edgar award-winning Last Policeman trilogy
Critic Reviews

A tenderly crafted and charmingly spot-on debut novel . . . surprising and nostalgic in the best possible way.

Denise Kiernan, author of The Girls of Atomic City
JasonRekulak

Jason Rekulak is the Publisher of Quirk Books, an independent publishing house based in Philadelphia, USA, known for New York Times bestsellers like Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. The Impossible Fortress is his first novel. Jason lives with his wife and two children in Philadelphia. www.jasonrekulak.com

Read More
JasonRekulak
Jason-Rekulak-1.jpg