Faber Members get 10% off their first order

The Tin Men

Michael Frayn

Tin Men is the first novel from Michael Frayn, the bestselling author of Spies, Skios and Headlong. It won the Somerset Maugham Award and examines technology, computers and automation with humour, elegance and wit. With a new introduction by the author.

Out of stock

Buy from
Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

Why not programme computers to take over the really dull jobs that human beings have to do – such as praying and behaving morally? At the William Morris Institute of Automaton Research they are doing just that to free mankind for the really stimulating and demanding tasks of living today – first and foremost the impending visit of Her Majesty the Queen to open its new wing . . .


Michael Frayn was born in London in 1933 and began his career as a journalist on the Guardian and the Observer. His novels include Towards the End of the Morning, Headlong, Spies and Skios. His seventeen plays range from Noises Off, recently chosen as one of the nation’s three favourite plays, to Copenhagen, which won the 1998 Evening Standard Award…

Read More
More books by Michael Frayn