Faber Members get 10% off first order

Fateful Mornings

Tom Bouman

FATEFUL MORNINGS is the hugely exciting follow up to Tom Bouman’s prize-winning debut, DRY BONES IN THE VALLEY

28 in stock

£8.99
Format
Paperback
ISBN
9780571327775
Date Published
02.08.2018
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

Fateful Mornings is a haunting dissection of the broken heart of America.’ Val McDermid

For fans of James Lee Burke and Cormac McCarthy, Tom Bouman is the new must-read author exploring the outer darkness of contemporary America.

In Wild Thyme, Pennsylvania, Officer Henry Farrell’s life is getting complicated. Widowed and more traumatised than he cares to admit, he is caught up in an affair with a local woman, and with helping out his friend’s barn construction job – on which the clock is ticking. When a troubled old acquaintance of theirs becomes the prime suspect in the disappearance of his girlfriend, it becomes increasingly clear that something seriously dark is at large in the woods that surround them.

Against this old and strange landscape – where silence rules – a fascinating and troubling case ensues, as Henry struggles for his very survival.

Critic Reviews

A haunting dissection of the broken heart of America.

Val McDermid
Critic Reviews

Tom Bouman’s words cut straight and true, in this riveting mystery about a good man caught in the ruined Eden of rural America.

Julia Keller, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of SORROW ROAD
Critic Reviews

Officer Farrell, who thinks a lot but speaks so little . . . proves to be excellent company.

Wall Street Journal
Critic Reviews

Bouman shows an insider’s understanding of the territory and creates his characters with understated economy and vitality.

Sunday Times
TomBouman

Tom Bouman is the author of Fateful Mornings and Dry Bones in the Valley, which won the Edgar Award for Best First Novel and a Los Angeles Times Book Prize. He lives in upstate New York.

Read more
TomBouman
Tom-Bouman-1.jpg