Faber Members get 10% off their first order

The Victims of Love

Colin Spencer

Out of stock

Buy from
Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

First published in 1978, The Victims of Love was the last in a quartet of novels by Colin Spencer concerning the Simpson family and their charged relationships across the generations. Now we are in the 1960s, as Sundy Simpson attempts a reclusive existence as a single mother and Matthew struggles with the aftermath of a superficially civilised divorce and the continued rage of passion within.

In a new preface Colin Spencer recalls how he drew inspiration from his own life and the lives of others, intending ‘to be as honest to my experience as I can be, to be ruthless in my vision of others as I have been to myself’.

‘Affecting, hilarious, and grave . . . [the Generation Quartet] is a tapestry of unforgettable characters in all their seaminess and sadness, their idealism and desires. It is a delight to meet them again.’ Sir Huw Weldon