Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

The last of the three trilogies authored by David Stacton (1923-68) was described by the author as ‘an intermezzo designed to deal with sexual relations’. After Old Acquaintance (1962) and Sir William (1963) came Kaliyuga (1965), described by Stacton as ‘the story of the relations of Siva and Kali, lightly told’.

Its chief figures are Charlie and Denise, an American couple in Switzerland, prone to domestic spats. After one such set-to Charlie finds himself wishing men were gods, so to be spared the banality of life’s cyclical little dramas. But he knows not of what he speaks or wants. In Hindu mythology the gods go round and round as we do, making the same mistakes – as Charlie and Denise will discover.


David Stacton (1923-1968) was born Lionel Kingsley Evans in San Francisco. He attended Stanford University before serving in the Civilian Public Service as a conscientious objector during World War II, eventually graduating from the University of California at Berkeley in 1951. Stacton went to Europe after college and ended up staying, in his words, ‘because I liked it and because…

Read More
More books by David Stacton

A Fox Inside
David Stacton