Faber Members get 10% off their first order

Black Night Falling

Rod Reynolds
Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

And now I stood here, on a desolate airfield in the Arkansas wilderness, a stone’s throw from Texarkana. Darkness drawing in on me. Cross country to see a man I never imagined seeing again. On the strength of one desperate telephone call…’

Having left Texarkana for the safety of the West Coast, reporter Charlie Yates finds himself drawn back to the South, to Hot Springs, Arkansas, as an old acquaintance asks for his help. This time it’s less of a story Charlie’s chasing, more of a desperate attempt to do the right thing before it’s too late.

Rod Reynolds’ exceptional second novel picks up just a few months on from The Dark Inside, and once again displays the feel for place, period and atmosphere which marked out his acclaimed debut.

Critic Reviews

Set in a 1940s Arkansas haunted by past crimes, evil acts and secret fears, Black Night Falling is noir at its classic best: unsettling, romantic and rippling with tension. Reporter Charlie Yates emerges as one of the most intriguing, complex and likeable characters to have appeared in recent years. Unputdownable.

TIM BAKER, author of Fever City
Critic Reviews

Set in the mobbed-up town of Hot Springs, Arkansas, in the 1940s, Rod Reynold’s Black Night Falling is a violent, gripping thriller whose moral ambiguity and emotional depth keep the reader fully invested right up to the last beautifully-written page.


After a successful career in advertising, working as a media buyer, Rod Reynolds took City University’s two-year MA in crime writing, where he started The Dark Inside, his first Charlie Yates mystery. This was followed by the second book in the series, Black Night Falling, in 2016. He lives in London with his wife and two daughters.

Read More