Faber Members get 10% off their first order

The Dark Inside

Rod Reynolds

In this town, no one is innocent.

Format
Paperback
ISBN
9780571323050
Date Published
07.04.2016
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

1946, Texarkana: a town on the border of Texas and Arkansas. Disgraced New York reporter Charlie Yates has been sent to cover the story of a spate of brutal murders – young couples who’ve been slaughtered at a local date spot. Charlie finds himself drawn into the case by the beautiful and fiery Lizzie, sister to one of the victims, Alice – the only person to have survived the attacks and seen the killer up close.

But Charlie has his own demons to fight, and as he starts to dig into the murders he discovers that the people of Texarkana have secrets that they want kept hidden at all costs. Before long, Charlie discovers that powerful forces might be protecting the killer, and as he investigates further his pursuit of the truth could cost him more than his job…

Loosely based on true events, The Dark Inside is a compelling and pacy thriller that heralds a new voice in the genre. It will appeal to fans of RJ Ellory, Tom Franklin, Daniel Woodrell and True Detective.

Critic Reviews

'Rod Reynolds depicts the dark heart of 1940s Texas with terrific punch and authenticity, achieving the rare trick of combining fearsome grit with real heart. A seriously good debut.'

Anya Lipska, author of Where the Devil Can't Go
Critic Reviews

A hopeful invoking of the cult TV drama True Detective on the jacket proves to be more than publisher hyperbole: The Dark Inside evokes the same shadowy, phantasmagoric atmosphere as the first series of that show. Rod Reynolds, a recent graduate from the crime-writing course at City university, London, shows that the UK is still nurturing new talent in the genre; with this fact-based tale, he takes his place among those British writers drawn to the sprawling canvas of the US.

Barry Forshaw, Financial Times
Critic Reviews

'This is a debut novel by a young British writer but reads like an authentic piece of good old-fashioned Southern noir...There are echoes of Chandler in washed-up journalist Charlie Yates's terse, cynical narration but this is more than a mere pastiche: it's subtle, original and enthralling.'

Jake Kerridge, Sunday Express
Critic Reviews

'I can't recommend The Dark Inside highly enough, it's a brilliantly atmospheric debut thriller. A superb detective story that is written rather beautifully in an old-style voice that is just wonderful.'

David, @omgthatbook
Critic Reviews

'A multiple murderer is at work in Rod Reynolds's powerful debut...The London-born Reynolds has taken a risk in telling such an archetypally American tale in his first novel, but it's one that mostly pays off.'

Nick Rennison, The Sunday Times
Critic Reviews

'Drawn inexorably and unrelentingly into a fascinating web of intrigue and deception, readers will find there can be no turning back until the last page has turned.
Stylish, assured and perceptive, The Dark Inside is a remarkable first novel.'

Pam Norfolk, Lancashire Evening Post
RodReynolds

After a successful career in advertising, working as a media buyer, Rod Reynolds took City University’s two-year MA in crime writing, where he started The Dark Inside, his first Charlie Yates mystery. This was followed by the second book in the series, Black Night Falling, in 2016. He lives in London with his wife and two daughters.

Read More
RodReynolds
Rod-Reynolds-1.jpg