Faber Members get 10% off their first order

The Quiet Man

James Carol

The hugely popular Jefferson Winter series returns with a gripping new thriller.

2 in stock

Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

In Vancouver, the wife of a millionaire is dead following an explosion in her own home.

Everyone thinks her husband is responsible, but former FBI profiler Jefferson Winter isn’t so sure. The method is too perfect; the lack of mistakes, uncanny. He’s seen a series of carefully orchestrated murders – once a year, on exactly the same day, a woman dies in a situation just like this one.

That date is fast approaching and Winter knows another victim has been selected. Can he identify the quiet man before he strikes again?

Critic Reviews

‘Freelance FBI profiler Jefferson Winter is summoned to Vancouver to help find a serial killer who strikes on the same day each year in a distinctively unpleasant fashion. But it's not the "pathologically pragmatic" psycho who grabs our attention — it's Winter himself, as he applies a lethal combo of street smarts, near-superhuman perceptive powers and gung-ho attitude.’

Sunday Times Crime Club
Critic Reviews

‘Winter's back story is intriguing and Carol, a UK writer, slips into the Americanisms in a seemingly effortless and totally convincing way ... well plotted [and] fast paced.’

Crime Warp
Critic Reviews

'A gripping read ... highly addictive.'

The Book Review Cafe
Critic Reviews

‘Brilliantly addictive … the pace is pitch perfect.’

Liz Loves Books
Critic Reviews

‘A gripping, intense, and fast paced read … Carol’s bold and addictive writing style had me hanging onto every word … A truly unputdownable novel.’

The Writing Garnet

James Carol is the creator of Jefferson Winter, a former FBI profiler who travels the world hunting serial criminals. The Jefferson Winter series includes Broken Dolls, Prey and Watch Me, which was shortlisted for the ITV Specsavers Crime Thriller Book Club Best Read. He has also written three ebook novellas set during Winter’s FBI days: Presumed Guilty, Hush Little Baby…

Read More