Faber Members get 10% off their first order


A. L. Barker
Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

A. L. Barker’s debut story collection appeared in 1947 and won the inaugural Somerset Maugham prize, instantly marking her out as a remarkable new talent. Each story describes a crisis in life; each reveals the impact of experience upon innocence, or vice versa.

‘[Barker’s] remarkable descriptive powers, her feeling for the exact word and the right combination of adjectives are most satisfyingly applied to the evocation of landscape… Barker writes with a subtlety and precision which are as delightful as they are rare.’ Times Literary Supplement

‘This collection of eight short stories… introduces an already assured and subtle stylist… There is little pity here, but – if restrained – considerable terror and tragedy, and a precision of observation and treatment which qualify this collection for a critical, fastidious audience.’ Kirkus Reviews

A. L.Barker

A. L. Barker (1918-2002) was a short story writer and novelist. Born in St Paul’s Cray, Kent, she lived in the same milieu where London borders on Kent and Surrey, for the rest of her life. As her Oxford DNB entry says it was ‘the chief setting for her work, which often seemed to partake of the quotidian mysteriousness and…

Read More
A. L.Barker
More books by A. L. Barker