Faber Members get 10% off their first order

Love After Love

Alex Hourston

For fans of Kate Atkinson and Louise Doughty this sophisticated adultery novel is not to be missed…

Format
Hardback
ISBN
9780571316939
Date Published
01.03.2018
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

Nancy Jansen is the beating heart of her family.

She is the centre around whom many lives turn.

Mother
Therapist
Daughter
Sister
Wife

But Nancy has a new role:

Lover

Everybody can be happy, Nancy believes, so long as they can be kept apart.

But when these lives start to overlap, collision becomes inevitable, with consequences for all…

Critic Reviews

'I inhaled the book, really, in one long, cool, quenching breath... it is written with such linguistic and emotional precision - not a word or thought out of place - and its examination of what it means to love honestly and truthfully, both as an individual and as part of a marriage and a family, had me utterly gripped from the first paragraph. Few other novels have absorbed me so fully this year. It deserves to do very well and I’m sure it will.’

Laura Barnett
Critic Reviews

’A beautifully written page turner of a book’

Kate Hamer
Critic Reviews

Hourston’s novel carries shades of Louise Doughty and Zoe Heller but what sets her aside is her skillful handling of the parent and child relationship, and the changing bond as the youngster matures.

Sunday Post
Critic Reviews

‘Starting out in psychological thriller territory, this gradually turns into something more reflective and emotionally satisfying.’

Stephanie Cross, Daily Mail
Critic Reviews

‘Love After Love’s jacket hints that it is a thriller and this is reinforced by some red herrings in the opening pages. But in fact it is something more subtle, reflective and thought-provoking...This rich and rewarding novel captures one woman’s inner life and conflicts with acuity. It is insightful about the legacy of the family that shaped us and the legacy we leave to the family we shape...It is also the kind of controversial novel that will be catnip to book groups, exploring the question of when our lives and identities become subsumed by looking after other people and at what point it is reasonable to say ‘Enough’, and to put yourself front and centre.’

Charlotte Heathcote, Daily Express
Critic Reviews

‘An involving and unpredictable psychodrama with sharply observed characters, economical scenes and darkly evocative sentences.’

Press Association
AlexHourston

After fifteen years writing strategy for advertising agencies, Alex Hourston took a break to go back to university and her first love, books. She completed a Masters in English and started a PhD, but put it aside when the idea for this novel surfaced. Alex lives outside Brighton with her family. She is working on her second novel, an exploration…

Read More
AlexHourston
Alex-Hourston-1.jpg