Faber Members get 10% off their first order

Past Crimes

Glen Erik Hamilton

For fans of LEE CHILD and DENNIS LEHANE, an unputdownable series debut, from a thrilling new voice in American crime writing, Glen Erik Hamilton

Format
Paperback
ISBN
9780571314584
Date Published
05.03.2015
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

Come home, if you can…

For fans of LEE CHILD’s Jack Reacher and DENNIS LEHANE’s Kenzie and Gennaro, an unputdownable series debut, from a thrilling new voice in American crime writing

‘A zipline ride of a thriller, plummeting through the back alleys of Seattle … Hamilton has crafted a compelling new hero in Van Shaw.’ Gregg Hurwitz, New York Times bestseller

If my grandfather’s letter had stopped at the comma, I would have tossed it in the trash… only the last three words mattered. If you can. That passed for please, in the old man’s way of talking… If you can scared me a little.

Meet Van Shaw – soldier, ex-con – as he returns to his native Seattle after a decade’s self-imposed exile. Answering voices from his past, he finds a whole heap of trouble, and himself the prime suspect in the brutal attack on his grandfather. Drawn back into the violent, high-stakes life he tried to leave behind, he has to try and see right from wrong amid the secrets and resentments of those he was once closest to.

Think Boston crime think Dennis Lehane, think Washington DC think George Pelecanos, think LA think Michael Connelly – and now, think Seattle think Glen Erik Hamilton

Critic Reviews

'A home run off the first pitch - this guy has got what it takes.'

LEE CHILD
Critic Reviews

'Lee Child's hero, Jack Reacher, may just have a fresh rival in Hamilton's Van Shaw...The flashbacks to his past, and the dark characters he encounters along the way to this personal epiphany, make Hamilton's first Van Shaw novel and his formidable protagonist hard to resist. There will be more, Shaw is too taut and smart a hero for there not to be.'

Geoffrey Wansell, Daily Mail
Critic Reviews

Glen Erik Hamilton has crafted a compelling new hero in Van Shaw, an Army Ranger with a dark streak who operates in the spaces between shadow and light. PAST CRIMES is a zipline ride of a thriller, plummeting through the back alleys of Seattle where murder and intrigue reign supreme and the undead past lurks around the next wrong turn. Buckle in and hang on!

GREGG HURWITZ, New York Times bestselling author of Don't Look Back
Critic Reviews

An exciting heir to the classic detective novel. A well-written modern rendition of the old-fashioned gritty noir.

Kirkus
Glen ErikHamilton

A native of Seattle, Glen Erik Hamilton was raised aboard a sailboat and grew up around the marinas and commercial docks and islands of the Pacific North West. His first novel, Past Crimes (2015) won a Strand Critics Circle Award as well as the Anthony and Macavity Awards for Best First Novel, and was nominated for the Edgar, Nero, and…

Read More
Glen ErikHamilton
Glen-Erik-Hamilton-1.jpg