Faber Members get 10% off their first order

Whatever You Love

Louise Doughty

Whatever You Love, from Louise Doughty – the bestselling author of Apple Tree Yard, now a major BBC 1 series – is a heart-wrenching psychological thriller about bereavement and revenge, desire and infidelity, for fans of Gone Girl, The Husband’s Secret and Before I Go to Sleep.

4 in stock

£8.99
Format
Paperback
ISBN
9780571313440
Date Published
06.03.2014
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

Whatever You Love, from Louise Doughty – the bestselling author of Apple Tree Yard, now a major BBC 1 series – is a heart-wrenching psychological thriller about bereavement and revenge, desire and infidelity.

Shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award
Longlisted for the Orange Prize

Two police officers knock on Laura’s door and her life changes forever. They tell her that her nine-year old daughter Betty has been hit by a car and killed. When justice is slow to arrive, Laura decides to take her own revenge and begins to track down the man responsible.

Laura’s grief also re-opens old wounds and she is thrown back to the story of her passionate love affair with Betty’s father David, their marriage and his subsequent affair with another woman.

Haunted by her past, and driven to breaking point by her desire for retribution, Laura discovers the lengths she is willing to go to for love.

Critic Reviews

Doughty creates a haunting, heart-wrenching portrait.

Psychologies
Critic Reviews

The opening chapter is electrifyingly painful. From then on the reader is spellbound ... the book is hauntingly believable ... so powerful is the evocation of raw emotion that, the day after i finished it, I woke up with that same feeling. It was some minutes before I realised I was still inside Doughty's book.

A N Wilson, Readers Digest
Critic Reviews

It is an extraordinarly opening, written with such taut understatement that the mother's grief is given a visceral power: we empathise with it immediately ... Whatever You Love is a masterfully constructed novel, at once gripping and tender ... The emotional power of Doughty's prose is such that the reader is complicit in Laura's journey from loss to retribution. Doughty forces us to confront the darkness that lies beneath the skin. The result is a brilliant and brutal novel that continues to unsettle long after the final page has been turned.

Observer
Critic Reviews

Absorbing

Grazia
Critic Reviews

A stunning tale of grief and the lengths to which a woman must go to come to terms with it.

Woman and Home
Critic Reviews

Brilliant, disturbing, heart-wrenching.

Daily Mirror
Louise Doughty

Louise Doughty is the author of nine novels, including Platform Seven, Black Water, Apple Tree Yard, which was a top 10 bestseller in UK and Ireland and shortlisted for the CWA Steel Dagger Award and the National Book Awards Thriller of the Year, and Whatever You Love, which was shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award and longlisted for the Orange…

Read More
Louise Doughty
Louise-Doughty-1.jpg