The Girl in the Red Coat

Kate Hamer

A stand-out debut, THE GIRL IN THE RED COAT is the page-turning and hugely moving story of an abduction that will appeal to fans of THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS, ROOM and THE SNOW CHILD.

2 in stock

£9.99
Format
Paperback
ISBN
9780571313266
Date Published
24.12.2015
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

Shortlisted for the 2015 Costa First Novel Award
Shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger Award

‘Mesmerising, compulsive, deliciously dark’ LUCY FOLEY

Carmel is missing – but doesn’t know she’s lost.

When sensitive, distracted eight-year-old Carmel becomes separated from her mother at a local children’s festival, a man claiming to be her estranged grandfather finds her – and takes her.

Unable to accept the possibility that her daughter might be gone for good, Beth makes it her mission to find her. But in what she’s told is her new family, Carmel has embarked on an extraordinary journey, one that will make her question who she is – and who she might become.

‘Keeps the reader turning pages at a frantic clip . . . What’s most powerful here is not whodunnit, or even why, but how this mother and daughter bear their separation.’ CELESTE NG

**Carmel and Beth’s story continues in The Lost Girls – pre-order now!**

Critic Reviews

Keeps the reader turning pages at a frantic clip… What’s most powerful here is not whodunnit, or even why, but how this mother and daughter bear their separation, and the stories they tell themselves to help endure it.

Celeste Ng, author of Everything I Never Told You
Critic Reviews

Moving, convincing and completely compelling. I read through the night, desperate to know the little girl's fate.

Erin Kelly, author of THE POISON TREE
Critic Reviews

An intense, and tense, stunning debut. Early on we encounter a maze, but the whole book is a kind of maze, and one full of striking imagery and chilling atmosphere. Kate Hamer conjures mystery with such grace, cool beauty and urgent suspense it never feels like a debut. Brilliant.

Matt Haig, author of THE HUMANS
Critic Reviews

Compulsively readable, Kate Hamer catches at the threads of what parents fear most - the abduction of a child - and weaves a disturbing and original story. There is menace in this book, lurking in the shadows on every page, but also innocence, love and hope. Beautifully written and unpredictable, I had to stop myself racing to the end to find out what happened.

Rosamund Lupton, author of SISTER
KateHamer

Kate Hamer grew up in the West Country and Wales. She studied art and worked for a number of years in television. In 2011 she won the Rhys Davies short-story prize and her short stories have appeared in various collections. Her debut novel The Girl in the Red Coat was published in 2015. It was shortlisted for the Costa First…

Read More
KateHamer
Kate-Hamer.jpg