Faber Members get 10% off their first order

The Girl in the Red Coat

Kate Hamer

A stand-out debut, THE GIRL IN THE RED COAT is the page-turning and hugely moving story of an abduction that will appeal to fans of THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS, ROOM and THE SNOW CHILD.

6 in stock

£7.99
Format
Paperback
ISBN
9780571313266
Date Published
24.12.2015
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

Shortlisted for the 2015 Costa First Novel Award

Eight-year-old Carmel has always been different – sensitive, distracted, with an heartstopping tendency to go missing. Her mother Beth, newly single, worries about her daughter’s strangeness, especially as she is trying to rebuild a life for the two of them on her own.

When she takes Carmel for an outing to a local festival, her worst fear is realised: Carmel disappears into the crowd. Unable to accept the possibility that her daughter might be gone for good, Beth embarks on a mission to find her. Meanwhile, Carmel begins an extraordinary and terrifying journey of her own. But do the real clues to Carmel’s disappearance lie in the otherworldly qualities her mother had only begun to guess at?

Critic Reviews

Keeps the reader turning pages at a frantic clip… What’s most powerful here is not whodunnit, or even why, but how this mother and daughter bear their separation, and the stories they tell themselves to help endure it.

Celeste Ng, author of Everything I Never Told You
Critic Reviews

Moving, convincing and completely compelling. I read through the night, desperate to know the little girl's fate.

Erin Kelly, author of THE POISON TREE
Critic Reviews

An intense, and tense, stunning debut. Early on we encounter a maze, but the whole book is a kind of maze, and one full of striking imagery and chilling atmosphere. Kate Hamer conjures mystery with such grace, cool beauty and urgent suspense it never feels like a debut. Brilliant.

Matt Haig, author of THE HUMANS
Critic Reviews

Compulsively readable, Kate Hamer catches at the threads of what parents fear most - the abduction of a child - and weaves a disturbing and original story. There is menace in this book, lurking in the shadows on every page, but also innocence, love and hope. Beautifully written and unpredictable, I had to stop myself racing to the end to find out what happened.

Rosamund Lupton, author of SISTER
KateHamer

Kate Hamer grew up in Pembrokeshire. She did a Creative Writing MA at Aberystwyth University and the Curtis Brown Creative novel-writing course. She won the Rhys Davies short story award in 2011 and her winning story was read out on Radio 4. She has recently been awarded a Literature Wales bursary. She lives in Cardiff with her husband. The Girl…

Read More
KateHamer
Kate-Hamer-1.jpg