Faber Members get 10% off their first order

The Killing of Bobbi Lomax

Cal Moriarty

Spectacular crime debut, for fans of Karin Slaughter and Stephen King

Out of stock

Buy from
Format
Ebook
ISBN
9780571305414
Date Published
05.05.2015
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

Spectacular crime debut, for fans of Karin Slaughter and Stephen King

Longlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger

A Financial Times Crime Book of the Year (2015)

CANYON COUNTY, HALLOWEEN 1983

Bobbi Lomax was the first to die, the bomb killed the prom queen on her own front lawn.

Just moments later one of the nails from the city’s second bomb forced its way into the brain of property investor Peter Gudsen, killing him almost instantly.

The third bomb didn’t quite kill Clark Houseman. Hovering on the brink, the rare books dealer turns out to be Detectives Sinclair and Alvarez’s best hope of finding out what linked these unlikely victims, and who wanted them dead and why. But can they find the bomber before he kills again?

Set deep in the religious heartlands of America, The Killing of Bobbi Lomax follows this troubled investigation as a narrative of deceit, corruption and forgery emerges, with an unlikely hero at its heart – a rare coins, books and manuscript dealer – who could either be a genius or the devil.

Critic Reviews

[A] total wow of a first novel. Moriarty can do breakneck speed without skimping on the development of her characters. Superb.

Kate Saunders, The Times
Critic Reviews

Hypnotically creepy ... a spooky crime debut with Stephen King-style twists.

Daily Mail
Critic Reviews

Crime fiction aficionados are in luck right now - barely a month seems to pass without a first-time novelist arriving fully formed, with all the authority of older hands. The latest is Cal Moriarty, who centres her debut on an unassuming book-lover who may also be an ingenious murderer ... Moriarty's novel is a blistering examination of both the criminal mind and the dark secrets that lie within America's Bible Belt.'

Barry Forshaw, Financial Times
Critic Reviews

Explosive ... a pacy, cerebral thriller.

Stylist
Critic Reviews

This debut from Cal Moriarty seamlessly combines murder, deceit, fraud, local politics and the power of religion... An old- fashioned thriller and a multi- layered mystery.

Daily Express
Critic Reviews

'Ambitious ...Well done Cal Moriarty, for concocting a clever crime cocktail with so many unusual ingredients.'

Thriller Books Journal
CalMoriarty

Cal Moriarty also writes for film and theatre, and previously worked as a private eye. She attended both the ‘Writing A Novel’ and ‘Edit Your Novel’ courses on the Faber Academy in 2012-13. To find our more visit www.calmoriarty.com or http://uk.pinterest.com/calmoriarty/ and follow her on Twitter @calmoriarty.

Read More
CalMoriarty