Faber Members get 10% off their first order

The Man Who Was Left Behind

Rachel Ingalls
Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

‘Every volume [Rachel Ingalls] has written displays the craft of a quite remarkable talent. Tales of love, terror, betrayal and grief, which others would spin out for hundreds of pages, are given the occluded force of poetry.’ Amanda Craig, Independent

Rachel Ingalls (b. 1940) grew up in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and has lived in London since 1965.

The title-piece in this collection, first published in 1974, is the novella The Man Who Was Left Behind, which tells of a retired lawyer from the American South whose entire family has been destroyed. His grief drives him to haunt the bars, parks and laundromats of the town where he was once a respected citizen. The accompanying stories ‘St. George and the Nighclub’ and ‘Something to Write Home About’ are both set on the island of Rhodes, and both offer disquieting portraits of marriage.


Rachel Ingalls was born in Boston in 1940. She spent time in Germany before studying at Radcliffe College, and moved to England in 1965, where she lived for the rest of her life. Her debut novel, Theft (1970), won the Authors’ Club First Novel Award, and her novella Mrs Caliban (1982) was named one of the 20 best American novels…

Read More