Faber Members get 10% off their first order

Stallo

Stefan Spjut

A terrifying supernatural thriller for fans of Let the Right One In, The Passage, and Salem’s Lot.

Format
Paperback
ISBN
9780571296804
Date Published
26.05.2016
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

A terrifying supernatural thriller for fans of Let the Right One In, The Passage, and The Loney

‘Very scary. Never mind Scandi crime fiction, the time has come for Scandi horror.’ Metro *****

‘Ratchets up the tension to an almost unbearable level … Astonishing.’ Independent on Sunday, Books of the Year

In the late 1970s, a young boy disappears from a summer cabin in the Swedish woods. His mother claims that he was abducted by a giant. The boy is never found.
Twenty-five years later, an old woman claims that a creature has been standing outside her house, observing her and her five year old grandson for hours.
When Susso – a blogger who’s dedicated her life to the search for creatures whose existences have not been proved – hears of this, and sees a possible link between the two incidents, she takes to the road on a terrifying adventure into the unknown…

Critic Reviews

Dark and thrilling ... Like King, Spjut ... has an ability to make you believe in the unbelievable. Yet Spjut is a simpler, elegant writer - he not only captures the everyday world but effortlessly interweaves his fantastic creatures into the story without startling you out of the fiction. He's scary too, very scary. Never mind Scandi crime ficction, the time has come for Scandi horror.

Metro
Critic Reviews

A deeply evocative tale that draws you to a place where human nature is threatened by the chilling darkness of the supernatural.

Thomas Alfredson, Director of LET THE RIGHT ONE IN and TINKER, TAILOR, SOLDIER, SPY
Critic Reviews

A fantastic novel in every sense of the word. I was enthralled from the very first page, not only because the story is intensely riveting and constantly surprising . . . but also because he writes in a language that captures the everyday life we otherwise know inside and out.

Karl Ove Knausgaard
Critic Reviews

'Spine tingling. This spooky novel is great for open-minded mystery/thriller readers who enjoy a bit of genre blending as well as fantasy fans.'

Library Journal
Critic Reviews

Spjut turns Scandinavian mythology upside down in a shades-of-gray world built for lovers of fantastical suspense.

PUBLISHERS' WEEKLY
Critic Reviews

'A fun, cunning crime thriller...If you enjoy the novels of Michael Koryta or Tana French's The Secret Place ... you might eat up Stallo.'

Chicago Tribune
StefanSpjut

Stefan Spjut (b. 1973) has worked as a literary critic and culture editor. His debut novel Fiskarens garn (Fisherman’s Yarn) was published in 2008. He lives in Stockholm and has two children, a girl and a boy. He holds a black belt in taekwondo and considers himself a reprobate MMA-junkie.

Read More
StefanSpjut