Faber Members get 10% off first order

Stallo

Stefan Spjut
Translated by Susan Beard

A terrifying supernatural thriller for fans of Let the Right One In, The Passage, and Salem’s Lot.

Format
Paperback
ISBN
9780571296781
Date Published
04.06.2015
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

What if something is out there?

A haunting supernatural thriller for fans of Let the Right One In, The Passage and Salem’s Lot.

‘I was enthralled form the very first page . . . the words seems to sparkle on the page.’ Karl Ove Knausgaard

In the summer of 1978 a young boy disappears without trace from a summer cabin in the woods. His mother claims that he was abducted by a giant. The boy is never found.

The previous year, over in a Swedish National Park, a wildlife photographer takes a strange picture from his small airplane, of a bear running over the marshes. On its back sits a creature, which the photographer claims is something extraordinary.

Twenty-five years later, and back in Laponia, Susso runs a much-maligned web page, one dedicated to searching for creatures whose existence have not yet been proven: the Yeti, the Loch Ness Monster, Big Foot. But Susso has her own obsession, one inherited from her grandfather, the well-known wildlife photographer.

When an old woman claims that a small creature has been standing outside her house, observing her and her five year old grandson for hours, Susso picks up her camera and leaves for what will become a terrifying adventure into the unknown . . .

Critic Reviews

Dark and thrilling ... Like Stephen King, Spjut ... has an ability to make you believe in the unbelievable. Yet Spjut is a simpler, elegant writer - he not only captures the everyday world but effortlessly interweaves his fantastic creatures into the story without startling you out of the fiction. He's scary too, very scary. Never mind Scandi crime ficction, the time has come for Scandi horror.

Metro
Critic Reviews

'Stallo, the Lapland folklore word for troll, is slow burn, restrained Scandi-horror, in the tradition of John Ajvide Lindqvist's Let The Right One In. As ever, it's the humans that are the most terrifying.'

Sydney Morning Herald
Critic Reviews

A deeply evocative tale that draws you to a place where human nature is threatened by the chilling darkness of the supernatural.

Thomas Alfredson, Director of LET THE RIGHT ONE IN and TINKER, TAILOR, SOLDIER, SPY
Critic Reviews

A fantastic novel in every sense of the word. I was enthralled from the very first page, not only because the story is intensely riveting and constantly surprising . . . but also because he writes in a language that captures the everyday life we otherwise know inside and out.

Karl Ove Knausgaard
Critic Reviews

'Spine tingling. This spooky novel is great for open-minded mystery/thriller readers who enjoy a bit of genre blending as well as fantasy fans.'

Library Journal
Critic Reviews

Spjut turns Scandinavian mythology upside down in a shades-of-gray world built for lovers of fantastical suspense.

PUBLISHERS' WEEKLY
StefanSpjut

Stefan Spjut (b. 1973) has worked as a literary critic and culture editor. His debut novel Fiskarens garn (Fisherman’s Yarn) was published in 2008. He lives in Stockholm and has two children, a girl and a boy. He holds a black belt in taekwondo and considers himself a reprobate MMA-junkie., Stefan Spjut (b. 1973) has worked as a literary critic…

Read more
StefanSpjut