Faber Members get 10% off their first order

Frost Hollow Hall

Emma Carroll

From the queen of historical fiction, Frost Hollow Hall by Emma Carroll is a ghostly tale about love, loss and forgiveness with an instant classic feel.

13 in stock

£7.99
Format
Paperback
ISBN
9780571295449
Date Published
03.10.2013
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

The gates to Frost Hollow Hall loomed before us. They were great tall things, the ironwork all twisted leaves and queer-looking flowers. And they were very definitely shut.

Tilly’s heart sinks. Will’s at the door of their cottage, daring her to come ice-skating up at Frost Hollow Hall. No one goes near the place these days. Rumour has it that the house is haunted . . . Ten years ago the young heir, Kit Barrington, drowned there in the lake. But Tilly never turns down a dare.
Then it goes horribly wrong. The ice breaks, Tilly falls through and almost drowns. At the point of death, a beautiful angel appears in the water and saves her. Kit Barrington’s ghost.
Kit needs Tilly to solve the mystery of his death, so that his spirit can rest in peace. In order to discover all she can, Tilly gets work as a maid at Frost Hollow Hall. But the place makes her flesh crawl. It’s all about the dead here, she’s told, and in the heart of the house she soon discovers all manner of dark secrets . . .

Frost Hollow Hall is a thrilling historical fiction debut. Told in Tilly’s unique voice, it is a tale of love and loss, and how forgiveness is the key to recovery.

Critic Reviews

Emma Carroll, in her spooky debut, makes the Gothic ghost story her own ... believable, moving and just the right sort of frightening

Daily Telegraph
Critic Reviews

This is a charming story which, despite dealing with dark themes of grief, poverty and death, remains light-hearted and hopeful. With wonderful description and great characterisation, Emma Carroll is a real find and Frost Hollow Hall is a perfect ghostly mystery for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Ellen Renner and Marie-Louise Jense

We Love This Book
Critic Reviews

An emotionally-charged historical tale and a very believable ghost story rolled into one

The Telegraph
Critic Reviews

The perfect wintry ghost story

The Sunday Express
EmmaCarroll

Once told by poet Ted Hughes her writing was ‘dangerous’, it took Emma Carroll twenty years of English teaching and a life-changing cancer diagnosis to feel brave enough to give her dream of being an author a try. Nowadays, she’s a bestselling author and the ‘Queen of Historical Fiction’ (BookTrust). She has been nominated for and the winner of numerous…

Read More
EmmaCarroll
Emma-Carroll-1.jpg