Faber Members get 10% off first order

Through the Woods

Emily Carroll

A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman

31 in stock

£12.99
Format
Paperback
ISBN
9780571288656
Date Published
07.05.2015
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’

Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.

These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.

Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

Critic Reviews

Beautiful, beguiling and thrillingly eerie.

MICHEL FABER
Critic Reviews

Stunning, magical. Hauntingly gothic, it made me feel like a child again, reading Grimm fairy tales.

JANE HARRIS
Critic Reviews

Mesmerizes and inspires; a Victorian gothic playground haunted by Mary Shelley & Edward Gorey, awash in the dream-like haze of Odilon Redon, and composed with the poetic elegance of Ukiyo-e. I loved it.

CRAIG THOMPSON
Critic Reviews

'A wonderful new collection by the Canadian comic artist and writer Emily Carroll. As Craig Thompson (Blankets, Habibi) has already pointed out, Carroll's talent is immense: the mood of these stories is Brothers Grimm by way of Patricia Highsmith or Stephen King, while her drawings, so fluidly lavish and atmospheric, seem to channel Edward Gorey.'

Rachel Cooke, Observer, Graphic Novel of the Month
Critic Reviews

'A graphic debut that blends the gothic strangeness of Tim Burton with the macabre illustrations of Edward Gorey to create a wonderfully chilling collection of tales ... Eschewing neat endings, Carroll leaves lingering questions: how much is real and how much is imagination? ... Her eerie tales will haunt you.'

Financial Times
Critic Reviews

'The gothic tradition is alive, or perhaps splendidly undead, in Emily Carroll's chilling period folktales Through the Woods. Particularly effective is how Carroll insinuates her handwritten narration within her elegant page designs ... Carroll knows when to shock on the turn of a page and when to leave her horrors lurking.'

Paul Gravett, Independent
EmilyCarroll

Emily Carroll was born in London, Ontario in June of 1983. In addition to the many short online comics found at her website http://www.emcarroll.com/, her work has been featured in numerous print anthologies. She currently lives with her wife Kate and their large orange cat in Stratford, Ontario.

Read more
EmilyCarroll