Faber Members get 10% off their first order

The Cry

Helen FitzGerald

The Cry by Helen FitzGerald, widely acclaimed as one of the best psychological thrillers of the year, brings a parent’s worst nightmare to vivid life.

2 in stock

£8.99
Format
Paperback
ISBN
9780571287703
Date Published
05.09.2013
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

Longlisted for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award

When a baby goes missing on a lonely roadside in Australia, it sets off a police investigation that will become a media sensation and dinner-table talk across the world.

Lies, rumours and guilt snowball, causing the parents, Joanna and Alistair, to slowly turn against each other.

Finally Joanna starts thinking the unthinkable: could the truth be even more terrible than she suspected? And what will it take to make things right?

Perfect for fans of Julia Crouch, Sophie Hannah and Laura Lippman, The Cry was widely acclaimed as one of the best psychological thrillers of the year. There’s a gripping moral dilemma at its heart and characters who will keep you guessing on every page.

Critic Reviews

'Astonishingly good. It is utterly harrowing, completely plausible, constantly nerve-shredding ... It plays on the deepest, darkest fears of all parents about their children, and embeds that everyday terror in a plot so up-to-the-minute that you'll swear it's been lifted from the pages of a newspaper ... The Cry is a remarkable novel - its devastating power all the stronger for its realistic rendering. Brilliant stuff.'

Doug Johnstone, Independent on Sunday
Critic Reviews

A book you find yourself greedily gulping down.

Herald
Critic Reviews

The harrowing plot keeps you gripped until the final, devastating revelation.

Sunday Mirror
Critic Reviews

Already being hailed as this year's talking point novel for parents - the equivalent of THE SLAP ... A gripping read [that] will hit a nerve.

The Times
Critic Reviews

My hat is totally off to this writer.

Laura Lippman
Critic Reviews

Brilliant ... 300 pages of taut, sharp, chilling and often laugh out loud funny genius.

Lisa Jewell
HelenFitzGerald

Helen FitzGerald is the bestselling author of Dead Lovely and nine other adult and young adult thrillers, including The Donor, The Cry, which was longlisted for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year and the Guardian‘s Not the Booker Prize, and The Exit. Helen has worked as a criminal justice social worker for over ten years. She is…

Read More
HelenFitzGerald
Helen-FitzGerald-1.jpg