Faber Members get 10% off first order

The Unconsoled

Kazuo Ishiguro

The Unconsoled is an utterly original masterpiece by Kazuo Ishiguro, the Booker Prize-winning author of The Remains of the Day, Never Let Me Go and The Buried Giant.

Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

*Kazuo Ishiguro’s new novel Klara and the Sun is now available*

By the Nobel Prize-winning author of The Remains of the Day and Never Let Me Go

Ryder, a renowned pianist, arrives in a Central European city he cannot identify for a concert he cannot remember agreeing to give. But then as he traverses a landscape by turns eerie and comical – and always strangely malleable, as a dream might be – he comes steadily to realise he is facing the most crucial performance of his life.

Ishiguro’s extraordinary and original study of a man whose life has accelerated beyond his control was met on publication by consternation, vilification – and the highest praise.

Critic Reviews

A masterpiece… It is above all a book devoted to the human heart.

The Times
Critic Reviews

[Ishiguro] is an original and remarkable genius… The Unconsoled is the most original and remarkable book he has so far produced.

New York Times Book Review
Critic Reviews

Almost certainly a masterpiece.

Anita Brookner
Critic Reviews

A work of great interest and originality… Ishiguro has mapped out an aesthetic territory that is all his own… frankly fantastic [and] fiercer and funnier than before.

New Yorker
Critic Reviews

One of the strangest books in memory.

Times Literary Supplement

Kazuo Ishiguro was born in Nagasaki, Japan, in 1954 and moved to Britain at the age of five. His nine works of fiction have earned him many honours around the world, including the Nobel Prize in Literature and the Booker Prize. His work has been translated into over fifty languages and The Remains of the Day and Never Let Me…

Read more
More books by Kazuo Ishiguro