Faber Members get 10% off their first order

The New York Trilogy

Paul Auster

The New York Trilogy is Paul Auster’s stunning debut novel – a thrilling expansion of the possibilities of the detective fiction genre.

35 in stock

£8.99
Format
Paperback
ISBN
9780571276653
Date Published
02.06.2011
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

The New York Trilogy is perhaps the most astonishing work by one of America’s most consistently astonishing writers. The Trilogy is three cleverly interconnected novels that exploit the elements of standard detective fiction and achieve a new genre that is all the more gripping for its starkness. It is a riveting work of detective fiction worthy of Raymond Chandler, and at the same time a profound and unsettling existentialist enquiry in the tradition of Kafka or Borges. In each story the search for clues leads to remarkable coincidences in the universe as the simple act of trailing a man ultimately becomes a startling investigation of what it means to be human. The New York Trilogy is the modern novel at its finest: a truly bold and arresting work of fiction with something to transfix and astound every reader.

‘Marks a new departure for the American novel.’ Observer

‘A shatteringly clever piece of work . . . Utterly gripping, written with an acid sharpness that leaves an indelible dent in the back of the mind.’ Sunday Telegraph

The New York Trilogy established him as the only author one could compare to Samuel Beckett.’ Guardian

PaulAuster

Paul Auster is the bestselling author of Winter Journal, Sunset Park, Man in the Dark, The Brooklyn Follies, The Book of Illusions and The New York Trilogy, among many other works. In 2006 he was awarded the Prince of Asturias Prize for Literature and inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Among his other honours are the Independent…

Read More
PaulAuster
Paul-Auster-2.jpg
More books by Paul Auster

Smoke & Blue in the Face
Paul Auster
£20.00