Faber Members get 10% off their first order

Percy Bysshe Shelley

Fiona Sampson

This selection of Percy Bysshe Shelley poems, chosen by Fiona Sampson, joins a series in which Faber and Faber presents eight beautiful editions of classic Romantic poetry.

Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

In this series, a contemporary poet selects and introduces a poet of the past. By their choice of poems and by the personal and critical reactions they express in their prefaces, the editors offer insights into their own work as well as providing an accessible and passionate introduction to the most important poets in our literature.

Music, when soft voices die,
Vibrates in the memory —

Odours, when sweet violets sicken,

Live within the sense they quicken.

— To

Fiona Sampson

Fiona Sampson studied at the universities of Oxford, where she won the Newdigate Prize, and Nijmegen. She has published sixteen books, including poetry, translations and studies of writing process, of which the most recent is Rough Music (2010). Her awards include a Cholmondeley and she is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. Music Lessons: The Newcastle Poetry Lectures…

Read More
Fiona Sampson