Faber Members get 10% off their first order

How Dear Is Life

Henry Williamson
Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

How Dear is Life (1954) was the fourth entry in Henry Williamson’s fifteen-volume A Chronicle of Ancient Sunlight spanning the years from the late Victorian period to the Second World War. It finds Phillip Maddison in the portentous months leading to the outbreak of war in 1914.Now a clerk in the Moon Fire Office, Phillip decides to join the territorials – attracted by the money, the camp near the sea, and the prospect of a new suit of clothes. As a glorious summer slips away war seems unreal; but the old world is in peril, and before long the British Expeditionary Force is setting sail for France.

‘Williamson’s style is romantic, though rarely sentimental, and his sensuous response to nature is fresh and surprising.’ Anthony Burgess, Ninety-Nine Novels: The Best in English since 1939


Henry Williamson (1895-1977) was a prolific writer best known for Tarka the Otter which won the Hawthornden Prize in 1927. He wrote much of else of quality including The Wet Flanders Plain, The Flax of Dream tetralogy and the fifteen volume A Chronicle of Ancient Sunlight all of which are being reissued in Faber Finds. His politics were unfortunate, naively…

Read More
More books by Henry Williamson