Faber Members get 10% off first order

Scarred

Thomas Enger

For fans of Borgen, The Killing and the Wallander series, Thomas Enger’s Scarred is a thrilling novel of murder and political scandal in Oslo.

2 in stock

£8.99
Format
Paperback
ISBN
9780571272488
Date Published
06.02.2014
Delivery
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.
Summary

For fans of Borgen, The Killing and the Wallander series, a thrilling novel of murder and political scandal in Oslo.

An elderly woman is found dead in a nursing home. Bjarne Brogeland, who heads up the investigation, soon realises that they are on the trail of a meticulous killer who has developed a keen taste for revenge. A killer who has only just begun…

Trine Juul-Osmundsen, Norway’s Secretary of State and Henning Juul’s sister, is accused of sexually harassing a young male politician. As the allegations cause a media frenzy, Trine receives an anonymous threat telling her to resign. If she doesn’t, the truth about what she really did that night will be revealed.

Scarred reporter Henning Juul, finds himself torn between the two high profile cases. He wants to help his estranged sister, but as he digs into their past, he discovers memories that haunt them both. Memories of a broken home. Memories of a dead father.

As the two cases collide, both their worlds threaten to fall apart.

Scarred is the third novel in the acclaimed Henning Juul series, following Burned and Pierced, which was shortlisted for the 2013 Petrona Award.

Critic Reviews

Enger is one of the most unusual and intense talents in the field.

Barry Forshaw, Independent
Critic Reviews

Slick, compelling and taut, Pierced combines a sophisticated layering of mysteries with an intensely scarred hero embarked on a tragic quest. A dark and suspenseful blast of Nordic exposure.

Chris Ewan
Critic Reviews

Superbly compelling ... the characters leap right off the page, and the relationship between them is as twisted and complex as the story itself.

Shotsmag
Critic Reviews

The Killing took us by surprise, The Bridge was a good follow-up, but the political drama Borgen knocked spots of both. For readers who enjoy these Scandinavian imports, this novel is a treat . . . the dialogue is sharp and snappy and the characters seem to come alive in this sophisticated and suspenseful tale.

Jessica Mann, Literary Review
ThomasEnger

Thomas Enger is the author of two previous Henning Juul novels, most recently Pierced, which was described in Shotsmag as ‘excellent, another superbly compelling read by Thomas Enger’. As well as writing, he also composes music. He lives in Oslo and is currently at work on the fourth novel of the series.

Read more
ThomasEnger
Thomas-Enger-1.jpg