Faber Members get 10% off their first order

Of Mutability

Jo Shapcott

A new collection from award-winning poet Jo Shapcott.

Out of stock

Buy from
Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

Jo Shapcott’s award-winning first three collections, gathered in Her Book: Poems 1988-1998, revealed her to be a writer of ingenuous, politically acute and provocative poetry, and rightly earned her a reputation as one of the most original and daring voices of her generation. In Of Mutability, Shapcott is found writing at her most memorable and bold. In a series of poems that explore the nature of change – in the body and the natural world, and in the shifting relationships between people – these poems look freshly but squarely at mortality. By turns grave and playful, arresting and witty, the poems in Of Mutability celebrate each waking moment as though it might be the last, and in so doing restore wonder to the to the smallest of encounters.

Critic Reviews

'It has been 12 years since Jo Shapcott's last full collection of poetry, and it has been worth the wait ... Of Mutability is a marvellously resonant, coherent collection ... subtle, beguiling.'

Paul Batchelor, The Times
Critic Reviews

'Everything changes - and anything is worthy of Shapcott's steady, penetrating gaze ... grave but gritty, philosophical but witty, playful but also profound.'

Chris Moss, Time Out

Jo Shapcott was born in London. Poems from her three award-winning collections, Electroplating the Baby (1988), Phrase Book (1992) and My Life Asleep (1998) are gathered in a selected poems, Her Book (2000). She has won a number of literary prizes including the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Best First Collection, the Forward Prize for Best Collection and the National Poetry…

Read More
Also Recommended

Browse a selection of books we think you might also like, with genre matches and a few wildcards thrown in.