Faber Members get 10% off their first order

The Underground Man

Mick Jackson

For the first time on the Faber list, Mick Jackson’s brilliant debut novel, shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 1997.

Out of stock

Buy from
Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

One of the most acclaimed novels of recent times, The Underground Man is the fictionalised diary of a deeply eccentric English aristocrat.

The duke has just completed a network of tunnels beneath his estate. His health is failing, but his imagination seems to know no bounds. And while he spends more time underground and retreats ever deeper into the darker corners of his house there are some ghosts that demand to be acknowledged and some memories which insist on making themselves known.

Critic Reviews

'Quite simply, astonishing.'

Critic Reviews

'A hugely charming book, the Duke is an unusually lovable protagonist.'

Independent on Sunday
Critic Reviews

'A strong narrative drive, a Gothic twist and wonderful cast of secondary characters makes this an entrancingly readable book.'

Sunday Telegraph

Mick Jackson is the prize winning author of the novels, The Underground Man, Five Boys and The Widow’s Tale. He also published, with the illustrator David Roberts, two acclaimed curiosities, Ten Sorry Tales and Bears of England. His latest novel is Yuki Chan in Bronte Country.

Read More