Her Book

Jo Shapcott

Out of stock

Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

Poems 1988-1998 is a compendium from Jo Shapcott’s award-winning books Electroplating the Baby, Phrase Book and My Life Asleep. It reveals her to be a writer of ingenious, politically acute and provocative imagination and justifies her reputation as one of the most original and daring voices of her generation.

Critic Reviews

'Shapcott is gifted and original, and it is in work such as hers that the future health of poetry needs to be sought.'

Sean O’Brien, Sunday Times
Critic Reviews

'There is about Shapcott's poetry a passionate reticence. Once in disguise, though, pressed into other skins and other perspectives, she howls and sings.'

Michael Hofmann, The Times
Critic Reviews

'Jo Shapcott's is a voice that reaches out and grabs. In all her work, she transforms the extraordinary into the immediately plausible . . . Whatever her province, her concern remains for the chaotically unaccountable in humanity.'

Mark Wormald, Times Literary Supplement
Critic Reviews

'Poems which have a way of turning physics into the physical, the subatomic field of matter into one vast erogenous zone.'

Jamie McKendrick, Independent on Sunday, Independent on Sunday

Jo Shapcott was born in London. Poems from her three award-winning collections, Electroplating the Baby (1988), Phrase Book (1992) and My Life Asleep (1998) are gathered in a selected poems, Her Book (2000). She has won a number of literary prizes including the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Best First Collection, the Forward Prize for Best Collection and the National Poetry…

Read More