Selected Poems David Harsent

David Harsent

A selection of David Harsent’s work from across his career

Out of stock

Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

In an illustrious career, David Harsent has published eight collections of poetry, from A Violent County in 1969, to Legion, winner of the Forward Prize in 2005. This selection, made by the author himself, draws upon the full arc of his career and offers an outstanding concentration of, and introduction to, the full range and powers of this distinguished poet.

Critic Reviews

Harsent has an unusual claim to notice: you begin every poem with the certain prospect of pleasure and surprise.

Martin Amis, Observer
Critic Reviews

Few poets today can command such tension or such fluency of line.

Times Literary Supplement

David Harsent has published thirteen collections of poetry. Legion won the 2005 Forward Prize for Poetry. Night (2011), a Poetry Book Society Choice, was shortlisted for the Costa, Forward and T. S. Eliot poetry prizes and won the Griffin International Poetry Prize. Fire Songs (2014) won the T. S. Eliot Prize. His most recent collection, Loss, was published in 2020.

Read More