The Beautiful Years

Henry Williamson
Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

The Beautiful Years is a tender evocation of West Country childhood in the golden years before the First World War. It is also the first volume in Henry Williamson’s tetralogy The Flax of Dream. All four volumes – The Beautiful Years, Dandelion Days, The Dream of Fair Women and The Pathway – are being reissued in Faber Finds, and together they make up the life story of Willie Maddison.

The Flax of Dream is one of the major literary achievements of the twentieth century.


Henry Williamson (1895-1977) was a prolific writer best known for Tarka the Otter which won the Hawthornden Prize in 1927. He wrote much of else of quality including The Wet Flanders Plain, The Flax of Dream tetralogy and the fifteen volume A Chronicle of Ancient Sunlight all of which are being reissued in Faber Finds. His politics were unfortunate, naively…

Read More
More books by Henry Williamson