Faber Members get 10% off first order


Kazuo Ishiguro

Nocturnes is a thought-provoking short story collection by Kazuo Ishiguro, the esteemed author of The Remains of the Day, which won the 1989 Booker Prize, Never Let Me Go, and The Buried Giant.

11 in stock

Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

*Kazuo Ishiguro’s new novel Klara and the Sun is now available*

From the Nobel Prize-winning author of The Remains of the Day and Never Let Me Go

In Nocturnes, Kazuo Ishiguro explores the ideas of love, music and the passing of time. From the piazzas of Italy to the ‘hush-hush floor’ of an exclusive Hollywood hotel, the characters we encounter range from young dreamers to café musicians to faded stars, all of them at some moment of reckoning.

Gentle, intimate and witty, this quintet is marked by a haunting theme: the struggle to keep alive a sense of life’s romance, even as one gets older, relationships founder and youthful hope recedes.

Critic Reviews

A lovely, clever book about the passage of time and the soaring notes that makes its journey worthwhile.

Independent on Sunday
Critic Reviews

These stories come up on you quietly, but then haunt you for days.

Evening Standard
Critic Reviews

Each of these stories is heartbreaking in its own way, but some have moments of great comedy, and they all require a level of attention that, typically, Ishiguro’s writing rewards.

Critic Reviews

Poised and playful… In their deceptively simple exploration of love and loss [the stories] build on the achievement of Never Let Me Go.

The Times

Kazuo Ishiguro was born in Nagasaki, Japan, in 1954 and moved to Britain at the age of five. His nine works of fiction have earned him many honours around the world, including the Nobel Prize in Literature and the Booker Prize. His work has been translated into over fifty languages and The Remains of the Day and Never Let Me…

Read more
More books by Kazuo Ishiguro