Faber Members get 10% off their first order


R. C. Hutchinson
Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

Sabino – the outcast member of a rich mine-owning family – is renowned for his arrogance and brutality. For reasons of personal revenge, he agrees to lead an expedition to crush saboteurs who are attacking a vital railway line. Leading his struggling army of half-starved men across the arid and treacherous landscape, Sabino also embarks on a journey of the soul.

Rising, first published in 1976, was R. C. Hutchinson’s last novel. It is a powerful re-creation of an episode of South American history, and also a profound and poignant exploration of the complexity of human relationships, and of one man’s attempt at redemption. At its heart lies the burning struggle between good and evil.

R. C.Hutchinson

Ray Coryton Hutchinson was born in 1907 in FInchley. He published his first novel in 1930 and gave up his job in advertising to write full-time in 1935. His other novels include March the Ninth, Elephant and Castle, Shining Scabbard, The Unforgotten Prisoner, Johanna at Daybreak, A Child Possessed and Testament. He died in 1975.

Read More
R. C.Hutchinson