Faber Members get 10% off their first order

Sergey Prokofiev: Diaries 1915-1923

Sergei Prokofiev

Sergey Prokofiev: Diaries 1915-1923: Behind the Mask – this second volume sees a momentous epoch in European history, in Prokofiev’s personal life story and in the development of his art.

1 in stock

Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

The second volume of Sergey Prokofiev’s recently uncovered Diaries covers the years 1915 to 1922. It describes in detail the genesis and the problematic path to performance of major works in his canon, and the life-changing experiences of living in war-torn and revolutionary Russia, and deciding to leave for the mythic America he had long dreamed of visiting. The Diaries chart the author’s swings of fortune, the loneliness of the émigré, his encounters with a luminous range of personalities from music, theatre, art and literature, and the search for love and friendship, all cast in the burnished prose of a born master, not just of music, but of words.


Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953) returned to his native Russia in 1933, having established himself as one of the leading 20th century composer-pianists. His works include the ballet Romeo and Juliet and the music for Eisenstein’s film Alexander Nevsky, and he remains one of the most performed and popular composers world-wide.

Read More