Charlotte Jones Plays 1

Charlotte Jones

Charlotte Jones Plays 1 includes: Humble Boy; Airswimming; In Flame and Martha, Josie and the Chinese Elvis.

Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

This first collection of plays by Charlotte Jones includes her multi-award winning Humble Boy (Susan Smith Blackburn Award 2001, the Critics’ Circle Best New Play Award 2002, and the People’s Choice Best New Play Award 2002).

‘Charlotte Jones . . . one of our most accomplished and entertaining young playwrights.’ Financial Times

‘The structure and writing – admirably clear and unsentimental – both trip the light fantastic too, effortlessly gliding from the desperately funny to the desperately sad.’ Guardian

In Flame
‘Watching Charlotte Jones’s play, In Flame, is an experience of pleasure virtually unalloyed. It is funny, but with depth; painful, but with delicacy.’ Financial Times

‘A play about life and death, love and lust, guilt and hope and dreams and the whole damn thing. It has some of the best writing I have come across recently: vigorous, poetic and lethally funny, probing hearts with warmth, compassion and irony.’ Sunday Times

Martha, Josie and the Chinese Elvis
‘What strikes one is the play’s generosity of spirit and belief in human potential . . . confirms that Jones has a great future.’ Guardian

Humble Boy
‘Sad, very sad: funny, very very funny . . . this is a seriously wonderful play.’ Sunday Times

‘Rich, original, intelligent, funny and touching . . . I can’t recommend this lovely play too highly.’ Daily Telegraph


Charlotte Jones has written six stage plays: Airswimming, In Flame, Martha, Josie and the Chinese Elvis, Humble Boy, The Dark and The Lightning Play. She won the Critics’ Circle Most Promising Playwright award 1999. Martha, Josie and the Chinese Elvis won the Pearson TV Best New Play Award and Manchester Evening News Best New Play Award 1999. Humble Boy won…

Read More